My reviews (12)

Pork with apples and sauerkraut

The sweetness of apples, brown sugar and juniper berries compliment the sauerkraut in this hearty all-in-one pork dish.
Reviews (12)


30 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: mrshogan
Not good. I threw most of it out.
 
06 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: CARMIK124
I gave this 5 stars because it's the real thing, just like I had in France! I made some changes because of what I had on hand. I used a 32-jar of sauerkraut, a golden delicious apple, no juniper berries, no pork chops and no fresh parsley. Instead of making a spice bag, I just added freshly ground black papper, one shake of ground cloves, and a teaspoon of dried parsley flakes directly into the pot. I used hot dogs for the meat, added the cooked bacon, and used about 8 peeled and quartered red potatoes, let it simmer about an hour and a half, and it all came out delicious. Great recipe! Thanks 4Nancy! Next time I'll follow the recipe exactly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Nancy Gibson
excellent just like the French make it!!! If you follow the recipe.....it will come out perfect. You may need more Chicken broth if your pot is very full. To the lady that didn't have good results.....you didn't follow the recipe correctly, or your just not a sauerkraut person. I hope you will try it again and follow to a tee! Don't use russet potatoes they tend to melt down. Yukon Gold are the best for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: crazycookies
I found that by the time my potatoes were finished cooking, the pork was very dry. I omitted the apple and juniper berries and used ground pepper and cloves instead of whole. I put the chopped onion in with the sauerkraut, sugar, and broth and I crumbled the bacon and put it in 10 minutes before I took it off the stove. I think that I would make this again but without pork. It was very good with just the sausage and sauerkraut and potatoes. Also, I looove the taste of sauerkraut so I think I will add more next time and omit the brown sugar to keep it tart.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: naples34102
Recipes for this classic Choucroute Garnie are as varied and as plentiful as there are cooks to prepare it. This simplified, streamlined version was easy to prepare and a hit with both me and Hubs tonight. But I made it even simpler! First, I had sausage on hand, and that was plenty for us – I didn’t bother with the smoked pork chops tho’ they are definitely a worthwhile addition. I simplified the wrapping of the seasoning and aromatics by simply stuffing them in a tea ball. Finally, after sautéing the onions I threw everything in the Crock Pot except for the sausage and let it go for several hours. I used less broth than called for, pouring just enough to barely cover the potatoes and sauerkraut along with a good glug of white wine (I used Chardonnay). I used every ingredient called for but skipped the apples as both of us were good without it. An hour before I planned to serve dinner I tossed in the sausage, some nice knockwurst from Milwaukee’s famous Usinger’s. This is a lovely, full-flavored and satisfying dish. It also works well using a variety of meats and sausages but traditionally it all must be pork!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: LADYGWYN
Very tasty served with rye bread with butter on the side( great to soak up the juices). I replaced the juniper berries with 1.5 tsp of caraway seeds and used ground cloves , ground malabar black pepper and dried parsley as that is what I had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: firelane324
I created an account just to review this. This recipe is one of the best I've used from this site. I didn't use the Juniper berries as I couldn't find them, so I substituted a fresh Rosemary sprig instead. Also, I didn't use a spice bag and just put the spices directly into the pot. Tender pork chops, sweat tart kraut, crispy salty bacon, and the potatoes, YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: SPHOEBUS
Delicious! I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but used what I had on hand and everything was great, and a hit with the family. I'll make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: Laura C
This was exactly what I was looking for -- I followed the recipe, except I left out the sugar, but I also used a sweeter apple. If I do this again, I'll probably use more sauerkraut, as I'm running out of sauerkraut to go with the leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: L'Alice
Thank you. my father used to make a choucroute. A very forgiving recipe. I can see adding different smoked meats to this ad infinitum. used a bit of gin, as I had no juniper berries and 1/4 tsp. ground cloves (didn't have whole cloves ). I
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches