My reviews (60)

Arroz con pollo

This recipe is an all-in-one wonder, a simple dish of chicken and rice with fabulous Cuban flavours! This recipe is quick and easy and can be served with a salad, fried plantains or even a banana - a Cuban favourite with any meal!
Reviews (60)


30 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
This was very good. I took the advice of a few previous reviewers. Before browning seasoned with Goya adobo, Reduced onion down to 1 and increased garlic to 4. I did not use the boullion cubes I increased beer to 1 1/4 cup and used 1 1/2 cups chicken broth. 1 cup of frozen peas instead of canned. Baked covered at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. Flavor was very good. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
I always saute the uncooked rice just until it becomes translucent.This way, it holds a nice texture throughout the simmering process. This recipe is best, subbing chicken broth for tomato sauce and using frozen peas rather than canned. Top with cheese for a nice addition.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: MLCRIRI
The end result of this recipe was a great tasting meal. However, I had to add 1 1/2 cups of water to the dish because the rice did not cook at all just using the ingredients listed. After adding the additional water, I extended the cooking time by 15 mins., with the pan covered, and it cooked the rice. In the future, I will add the water and cook just as I would any rice dish, covered and for about 20 mins. on low.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: JUDYJJ
This recipe is not written very clearly. Based on the recipe as written there is not nearly enough liquid for the amount of rice. It appears that the bouillion cubes need to be dissolved in water then added. The extra 2 cups of liquid would have made a huge difference, as would covering the pan. Additionally, it says to drain the peas, then add them with the liquid. The taste was good, but as written it is a disaster. Probably would benefit from a bit of cilantro as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: STARP
Thank you Sussell for sharing your recipe. I grew up loving the Cuban Arroz con Pollo, but never fixed it myself. I don't remember the tomato sauce in it, so I left that out and used chicken broth in its place. Baked it in the oven at 350 for 1 1/2 hours. It was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: GRIZHAPPENS
I have eaten at a Cuban restaurant in Orange, California that features this plate. I followed the recipe to a tee and this came out just like what I had at this wonderful little restaurant on the circle in Orange. I give this the highest rating because of the taste and because 6 members of my family had there mouth watering for more. By the way, I am a 49 year old male who enjoys to cook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: SERNARAMA
This is a great authentic Cuban recipe. I did add a little water to it and cook it covered so the flavors were not as strong as Cuban arroz con pollo usually is. I also left out the peas and pimenton for the kids who found this to be a huge hit! I served it with fresh bread, a green salad and red wine. Next time I will make the maduros to go with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Cynsin2003
This was great! I seasoned the chicken with a little bit of onion powder and salt and pepper and I used chicken breasts instead (that's what I had) and paprika instead of saffron for color and it was great!!! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: CRISTIEF
This recipe is REALLY good. My husband and my 15-month-old son gobbled it up. I omitted the beer and used chicken broth instead. Seasoned the chicken with adobo before browning it and I too covered it and let it simmer for approx. 20 mins. I have no idea how that rice would have cooked other wise. I think next time, I'll only use 1 bullion cube to ease up on the saltiness
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: lalston
This was very good, I loved it! I didn't have any beer but subtituted chicken broth and no saffron but I used some Goya Sazon to season the chicken with and it was still very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches