My reviews (60)

Arroz con pollo

This recipe is an all-in-one wonder, a simple dish of chicken and rice with fabulous Cuban flavours! This recipe is quick and easy and can be served with a salad, fried plantains or even a banana - a Cuban favourite with any meal!
Reviews (60)


26 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: naedwards
This was good, though I did make changes. I didn't have green pepper so used red bell pepper instead. I omitted the red pepper at the end that the recipe calls for to top it iwth. I didn't have saffron so used 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp New Mexico chili powder and 1 tsp cajun seasoning, whcih is what I had. Also used a Corona beer, but only used 1 c and used 2 c of water. If you are using 1.5 cups of rice, you need 3 cups of liquid. Added in frozen peas. Also for the chicken, I boiled it in garlic powder and water, then shredded it. Cooked it in oil in pan wiht seasonings then added it to the rice mixture. Sauteed the rice with pepper and onion all together for five minutes, as if making spanish rice. It turned out pretty well, though mine also had a strong beer flavor despite the light version I used. Would make again though!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: AMBER91
This was Great! The flavor is wonderful. Our family loves this dish. I have made this many times but lost my recipe. I was glad to find it here on your site. It was really close to my origional. Thank you for submitting it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: DANIELTIBBS
Great taste, but took longer to cook the rice than 10 minutes. We use CalRose rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: Erik
I used basmati rice, and I neglected the uber expensive saffron, but I added shrooms and it turned out really tasty, the only bummer was, I had to use most of a 25 oz. Fosters because the rice wasn't quite done, really looking fwd. to downing that myself. Nobody knew what Arroz Con Pollo was, but now they do, and dad is pretty cool. Erik
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: ig1323
Great recipe family called it one of their favorite s
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: Jorge Borrego
AWESOME!! I added 1-teaspoon of vinegar and 8- green olives!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Everybite.
This was a real disappointing effort to complete. I made the dish at the request of the kids as they loved the last recipe, clear to me now I will go back. After following the directions specified, and the rice instructions, it was a bit soggy and why the beer I don't know but it was not tasteful in this at all. It was too strong and took the taste completely over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Alauda
This is close to what my family makes but we add capers and sliced green olives with pimentos. You don't need to add salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Jbooshey
My rice took about 10 extra minutes to cook through, but other than that I made this recipe exactly as is. The only thing that I wished was better was the chicken. I thought that it would pick up some of the flavor with being cooked in the stew, but it ended up being pretty bland. Overall though the rice stew was tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 May 2006
Reviewed by: bashia
i made this dish, and the rice turned out very hard and crunchy.. had to add more beer and water to cook rice throughly.. ended up being very sticky with not much flavor..
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches