My reviews (12)

Avocado and melon salad

This salad is like summer in a bowl. The sweet melon pairs perfectly with creamy avocado.
Reviews (12)


21 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: bellepepper
I selected this recipe because I had both an avocado and some leftover cantaloupe that I wanted to use up. The dressing also intrigued me. I will say the amount of dressing is excessive (hence the 4 stars) and would be enough for way more than four servings. I scaled the dressing ingredients down to one serving and it nicely dressed two salads, with a little leftover. We enjoyed this dressing very much. Mine never got what I would call “creamy” (maybe I wasn’t whisking fast enough), but I was happy with the dressing and it’s color. I didn’t have arugula, so I used red leaf lettuce and I just eyeballed the amounts of cantaloupe, avocado and almonds. The cantaloupe I had was wonderful, which added to the deliciousness of this salad. Give it a try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: KERIS1172
My Husband & I Inhaled it! Never thought of this combination, Delicious!! Next time I'm going to cut the cantaloupe & avocado smaller so they don't fall to the bottom.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Cptk41
Call me extravagant or just plain snooty but this recipe was just blah...however I do appreciate the effort. It didn't quiet make the grade..so..I added thinly sliced red onion, dried cherries,candied cashews and Gorgonzola cheese. WOW! Served it with a homemade shrimp bisque and a French baguette. Delicious! Bon Appetite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: lyn924
great salad I make it at least once a month!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: DKD
I found this to be a WONDERFUL combination with one HUGE warning... this is INCREDIBLY spicy (the kind that creeps up and bites you AFTER you've already swallowed it!) Not too sure if it was the mustard or "pinch" of cayenne but... WHOA, look out!! I will have to try adjusting the heat in the future (and there will DEFINITELY be a future for this one!!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: becky
who would've thought to put canteloupe and worcestershire sauce...I wasn't sure at first....bu YUM! I've eaten it 3 days straight!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: DiannaF
This was an amazing dish that my family loved. I made a few adjustments to it - outcome restuarant quality. I grilled shrimp with a little butter and garlic and added the shrimp on top of the salad. It was amazing. Also on a side note, my husband is not a big fan of melons so for his portion I substituted it with tangerine slices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Phillipa Lafleur
I actually changed up the dressing recipe and added red wine instead of the vinegar removed tfe paprika and just used cayenne pepper. It was definitely a keeper... I would try it again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Wonder Becky
Such depth of flavor! The sweet, spicy, crunchy, springy, and then the toasted almonds. It's going in our "make this again" pile!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Becky
Unusual combination, but we truly loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches