My reviews (40)

Boiled beef tongue

My mother used to make this and it seemed like she boiled the tongue forever. It's hard to believe now that as kids we used to fight over the tip, and the next day - tongue sandwich to school with lots of mayonnaise.
Reviews (40)


07 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: ILLDA
This is an old good recipe! One suggestion: right after it is ready, place the tongue in a pot with cold water for a minute - the skin will be much easier to peel off. Serve it with horseradish. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: WISEREADER
Very good. Like others I added a couple bay leaves, about 10 whole peppercorns, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1 chopped onion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: SURFWENCH
Good basic recipe. After slicing paper thin I marinate in good olive oil with red wine vinegar, chopped parsley, minced garlic, coarse salt and fresh ground black pepper. To die for as a salad or sandwich topping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: SarahandtheCity
Funny, I grew up in a european household...beef tongue was always something you found on the dinner table..I kid you not! The sauce that we use is a mixture of red horseradish and mayo...mix to your liking...but usually until it's a light burgundy kinda color....
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: MISSSUSAN
You can't go wrong with this one. It's so easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Nuri
In my country is a very special plate, just boiled or prepared for a great familiar o party time, but boiled means, onion, pepper, bay leaves, garlic, white vinegar, and the tongue of course. But, just salt is not enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: ABSCHICK
I like ox tongue too. this is a good recipe. I used to eat ox tongue a lot when I was in Hong Kong. We usually serve it with curry and rice. One suggestion I would like to make about the marinate is to use beef broth, onion, cabbage, salt, carrot and have the tongue boil in it for 3 hours. My one problem is that the inside of the tongue does not have too much taste because the tongue is so big and it is hard for the favor to get through.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: DESIDERATA
I also add a few bay leaves and about a half tablespoon of whole black peppers. A friend from Mexico, taught me to use shredded cabbage (I used bag), with aprox 5 sliced green onions, 1 large chopped tomato, 2 or 3 chopped and seeded jalepeno's all tossed together with a bit of olive oil and salt to make a salad. Then take chopped tongue on a soft tortilla that has been fried slightly with about a 1/4th cup of the salad and you have one great taco! Those who get grossed out at the thought of "tongue" don't know what they are missing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: MELY C.
This is also really good in tacos topped with chopped onion and cilantro and a good mexican salsa. My 8 year old love the sandwich for school lunch. I added some garlic and onion to give more flavor when cooking and cooked it in my slow cooker overnight is the best. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Dixi
Oh this is delicious but I take this recipe one step further by using my families old recipe. After cooking and slicing the tongue, dip it in egg or milk and fluff it with flour. Then fry it in butter or lard till browned. season with salt and pepper. It's out of this world delicious. I slipped it to my BF, which can be a fussy eater, and he flipped. Now he tells everyone they have to try it!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches