My reviews (56)

Barbadian Cake

My grandmother, Gladys Payne Gittens, emigrated from Barbados around 1906. She read this to me over the phone in 1978. Thanks to my friend Elayne, to whom I gave a copy, I was able to find this again on Mother's Day. It's a great simple cake, perfect with tea.
Reviews (56)


08 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: DeborahPacquette
My mum used to make plain cake when i was young,she was from Dominica,looked for this recipe for years, just like my mum used to make,reminds me of her lovely cooking.PS mum used granulated sugar as caster sugar was too expensive,still tasted great.
 
16 May 2003
Reviewed by: BabaEva
This is an excellent recipe and I will make it again with one BIG CHANGE. The temperature of 400 degrees is way too hot. I bake at least one or two cakes a week and have a professional stove. It scorched the top after 45 minutes with that hot of an oven. I never made it far enough to lower the oven to bake it for another 15 like the directions state. Next time I'll bake it at 325-350 degrees for one hour and then adjust accordingly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: CherrieT
This was awesome!!! I have been looking for this recipe for ages and am thankful that I finally found it The cake tasted exactly like it did when I grew up in the island of Barbados. Wow!! I have a picture of how it turned out too. I did not hand-mix, but used a KitchenAid mixture instead and I had to lower the temperature to 325 because 400 was definitely too high. However, the quantities were PERFECT!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: kathyannbaje
As a Bajan this is true 'bajan pudding' as we call it. The temp is high but the almond , mixed or vanilla essences does not matter as everyone has their favourite. The consistency, moisture and fluffy ness are perfect when the recipe is followed correctly. We even add cherries, raisins or mixed peel for difference flavours. Thanks, will definately make this over and over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: DKPORTER47
WHOA!WHOA!WHOA! The almond extract KILLS this cake. The density of this cake is great as well as the moistness. BUT, the almond extract over powers the cake way to much. Cut the almond extract to 1 teaspoon. I am going to try making it with one tbs of vanilla extract and 1 tsp of lemon extract and hope for different results- Wish me luck. I baked this cake for one hour at 350 and it turned out nice too bad it tasted terrible!!!! UPDATE: Okay I made the cake with the 1 tsp of lemon extract and WOW what a difference! We could actually eat it this time! It did not have a heavy lemon taste so the lemon glaze/icing I drizzled on it was a perfect compliment. Good Cake - would give a 4 when using lemon extract!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: MOO-FACE
This is SUCH a tasty cake. Out of all the cakes I've ever made, this is my favorite, and I keep coming back to the recipe. It just tastes and smells so good. I like to cook it in a 9" loaf pan (recipe makes two loaves) and use it for strawberry shortcake. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: tess
i tried the recipe and the cake mixture has too much fluid, loose consistency and when i put it in the bundt pan, the mixture dripped under the pan and i had burning scent in the kitchen. with 2 cups of butter, 2 cups of milk on a 3- cups of flour doesn't seem right with 4 eggs. I will never use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: LADYROJS
Very, very good recipe. I rate this one a five, it truly was easy and tasty. I always purchased birthday cakes because they are so special, but I doubled the recipe, added chopped cherries and still got perfect results. Thank you Madam Bajan for sharing. Antiguan (lol)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: TEENYSWEETY
This recipie was great. I'm a 15 year old starting to enter the world of cooking and let's just say I'm a little more than shaky. I took the cake out of the oven like 5-10 minutes early, so it fell in. But even still, the texture of th cake was so moist...almost like a custartd in a way but more solid. The outside of the cake was cripsy and it actually tasted quite great! My family went nuts over it and they usually consider things spawned from my hands toxic! If you have more than 2 months experience, I'd definitly try this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 May 2005
Reviewed by: DAPHNICA
Absolutely delicious, a perfect Barbadian Plain Cake! I followed the exact directions, and it turned out 100% perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches