My reviews (103)

Pho

An authentic South Vietnamese-style pho. A richly seasoned beef stock is served with rice noodles and thinly sliced beef.
Reviews (103)


06 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: LevisGenes
i skipped the radish and doubled the spices but at the end of eight hours, really didn't have a great beef flavored broth. It smelled great, but still had little flavor. Had to add a substantial amount of fish and soy sauce to get any flavor. Next time, I will buy some beef and pho bullions to add as needed and roast the bones and onion before boiling as I've seen in some other recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: erica
This beef Pho recipe was amazing! I was a little lazy and decided instead of making my own beef broth, I'd just use beef bouillon with all the other ingredients: the star anise, cloves, cinnamon and onions. I also added carrots as well. I took everybody's advice to sweat the onions (and carrots) before adding them to the soup base, which was a great idea! Just makes all the aromatic smells and flavors come together. However, even though the beef broth did work in a pinch, because I did not have enough time to start making it from scratch, using the beef knuckle an ox tail; I would definitely go ahead next time and try to make the beef broth from scratch, if I have enough time. I am pretty much a novice in the kitchen, but this recipe was pretty easy and came out tasting pretty authentic. Well I guess as authentic as I can imagine since the only Pho I have had has been from Vietnamese restaurants in the States. Anywho I garnished my Pho adding: udon noodles, cilantro, green onions, hard boiled eggs, sriracha, bean sprouts and limes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: Greg Shoe
it came out tasting like water. i fixed it though with a lot of salt. that worked out nicely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Barb Sheraski
Perfect! My youngest loves this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: dragon980
When I lived in Portland, OR, I ate at Vietnamese restaurants frequently. Now that I'm in middle of nowhere upstate NY, there are no such options and I really miss Pho. The broth took a whole day to prepare - I wanted a strong, slowly cooked bone broth - but well worth it. Before serving I added additional fish sauce to taste. I also left out the radish based on other reviews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Corner13
Loved it! very authentic! Followed the recipe and it is well worth the time- even my kids like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: ChefFazer
I quartered this recipe and it saved me from having to go to a restaurant every time I have a craving. I used chicken broth and a beef bullion cube instead of starting from scratch with beef knuckles (since it's what I had on hand) and I only simmered the spice bag for 1 hour instead of 4. It was still amazing. Now that I have all of the spices on hand I will definitely make this again. Thank you very much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Bill
Very authentic flavor... I was pleasantly surprised! Substituted a couple of other soup bone/meat cuts for the stock, but by and large followed this recipe. Also used the stock meat (shredded) for thai meatballs to go along with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: philnmay
excellent recipe, i added tripe to with the ox tail and they were very tender and yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Candace Silvasy
Love this, way better than oxtail versions. I'm doing a virtual tour on my site, Spa Around the World and am including this as the Cuisine pick! Thanks. Spa wishes, Candy
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches