My reviews (26)

Bobotie (South African meatloaf)

This traditional South African meatloaf recipe is packed with flavour.
Reviews (26)


07 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: mike2815
 
Comment:
22 Jul 2010
van said:
Made it more kid friendly. i have a daughter and i want to make a more friendly food
 
18 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Melissa Scholte
I regularly make bobotie and thought to give this recipe a try. It was "okay", but I have to suggest a few changes: As said by someone else - you CAN brown the mince and onions in a pan !! (I usually do). Then add the seasoning + 1 pinch of ground cloves + 1 pinch of ground coriander seed. Use 2 slices of soaked bread that haven't been drained too well and mix into the mince. Then place in a baking dish. Bake at 200C for about 15min. For the topping: if using 2 eggs it gives a lighter and fluffier dish if you use about 150/200ml of milk (maybe even more if you like the creamy topping). Bake 20 min. To make it even easier: If you're frying the mince before baking - place the seasoned mince in a baking dish and pour over the topping immediately. Bake at 200C for 35-45min. untill golden brown. The topping seeps into the mince mixture giving you a deliciously moist dish. Serve with yellow rice with raisins. (Just steam your rice with some tumeric, raisins and a pinch of cinnamon). A light green salad, slices of banana and caramalised sweet potatoes make it complete.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: DEONI
The recipe is fine, as long as it's kept in mind that, as a trad. dish, there are hundreds of small variations. I use apricot jam instead of chutney, but a fruity, quite sweet chutney is fine. One reviewer was wrong when she said the meat and onions are always fried in a pan first. No, this should be a quick dish (once you have the ingredients) and I certainly have never fried the meat first. One person altered the recipe so much that it could not bear much resemlance to the original! I understand about the milk allergy, but why leave out the breadcrumbs? It improves the texture. Try soy milk next time, or yoghurt, if that's okay. The egg-milk-turmeric custard should be poured over the top about 20 mins. before it comes out of the oven, and is a "characteristic" of this comfort food.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: ANNALIE
Good, but for a more authentic version use minced lamb and replace the bay leaves with fragrant fresh lemon or lime leaves. Serve with basmati rice flavoured with turmeric and cinnamon, slightly sweetened and raisins or currants added.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: LAKN
Yummy and old South African favorite. A friend just brought us some chutney and I wanted to make something special!! This was it, very delicious just like my mother used to make it when I was a kid growing up in South Africa! Perfect meal to go with the freezing weather in Massachusetts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: MELFROMSA
I made this recipe for a Thanksgiving dinner in the States and it was thoroughly enjoyed by all. The recipe leaves out where the onions are meant to go but just add them to the ground beef along with everything else. Very tasty, smells great and highly recommended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Mallinda
It's always hard to make a recipe for something you've never eaten or even seen, since you're really not sure what you're aiming at. I never heard of Bobotie until I saw this recipe, and the mix of ingredients intrigued me so I took the plunge. It smells wonderful when baking. The first bite was a little strange, but as I continued to eat it the taste began to grow on me and I can honestly say I liked it. (My husband thought it was only okay). My only fault was with the sauce. Some have described it as "custard" but mine turned out more like scrambled eggs. If I were to make this again, I think I would add a little more chutney. If you're looking for something unusual, this is worth a try.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Sandi
We made this recipe as part of a South African themed meal. We've never had it before, so really have no basis for comparison, but we both liked it. In fact, my husband absolutely loved it. It was slightly sweet, and the spices reminded us a little of Indian food. We will be making this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: DarrylDaniCici
this was really yummy!! i made it with the south african yellow rice recipe also on this site, and it was a wonderful dinner! i don't really like meatloaf but i loved this, it has tons of flavor, and really nice taste. i only made half and it turned out great! i also forgot to add the egg to the inside of the bobotie but it held together fine, didn't miss it at all. try this you won't be dissapionted!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches