My reviews (25)

Brandied Peppercorn Steak

This is an elegant preparation for steak, served with a luscious brandy and peppercorn sauce.
Reviews (25)


02 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: COMDOC
This is an excellent recipe that is easy to make with a sauce that is to die for. Serve with a good red wine to bring out the truely remarkable flavors of this dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: FRED NIELSON
This was an excellent tasting steak. The sauce was absolutely delicious. I found it a bit dry though. I think the cooking time may have been too long. This one will stay in my Recipe file. Try it with Cabernet Sauvignon. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: EILISH40
Have made similar brandied steaks but the flavor of the oil in these is much better. Will not use round steak - much too dry. Prefer strip loin or sirloin. Certainly impressive company fare. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: AlaskaAggie
This recipe is good, but not perfect. Make sure you go easy on the salt to avoid having an extremely salty pan sauce. Further, if your are using a thicker cut of meat, I would suggest searing the steaks on both sides and finishing in a hot oven (obviously use a oven-proof pan). This provides much beeter results with the meat as opposed to an excessively long pan-fry as noted. The oil made from the sage, rosemary, and thyme is great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: TINAFRANCO
The meat you should use for this recipe is Chateaubriand not top round as suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: MARSHMALO
This was very good! Demi-glace is a bit hard to find--I ended up going to a smaller grocery store to find it. I halved the salt, used margarine instead of butter, and used half and half. It was a little bit salty, but that's because I didn't "clarify" the margarine. To ignite the brandy, I lit the end of an uncooked linguine noodle and put the tip in the sauce. I also made the roux, but thought the sauce was thick enough after adding the half and half. I used the top round steak, which ended up a little tough. I would suggest buying a better cut. The sauce was SO good, though, that the meat toughness almost didn't matter!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: rockstar
I did not use the roux and I only cooked 8 minutes per side. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. Absolutely awsome!! Next time I am going to try some Drambuie fresh out of the freezer for a topping!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Dolly
Although this is a bit of work and takes time to make the demi-glace from scratch it is well worth it. Everyone loved it and I will most definitly make it again. Very tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: BISODER
Heck yeah! I loved cooking this recipe just as much as i loved eating it. I made with mashed potatoes and corn and the meal was delicious. The sauce was banging. This is going in the top 5 file!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Jessica Whittier
TRY IT!!! Made this twice now. Its one of the most wonderful tasting steaks I've had off the grill. The sauce is great over rice as well... delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches