My reviews (87)

Caldo Verde

This soup is a Portuguese favourite, and a great use of kale. Enjoy it with a thick slice of your favourite bread!
Reviews (87)


25 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: MEMetson
Just a note of my slightly different order of things... I actually fry the chorizo/sausage and use some of that fat to then continue with the process, it adds lot more flavour and as someone mentioned I prefer to use chicken/vegetable broth! Also, I never blend the potatoes for this soup, rather mash them so I end up with some pieces rather than just a creamy soup base! I just love Caldo Verde, one of my all time favourites!
 
Comment:
04 Jan 2011
klytning said:
Used different ingredients. also good with thinly sliced celery and carrots added while sweating the onions & garlic
 
12 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: JCONNON
Very good, not quite like my mother in law's, but very good. I did switch the liguica for chorico and more than doubled the amount, but thats how I like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Michelle
I loved this reciepe!! It was so good and very easy to make, however the only thing I changed was instead of boiling the potatoes in water I used 3 cans of chicken broth, one can of the low sodium low salt and then 2 cups of water, it seemed to give the soup more rich flavor and good color. Very good soup I will continue to make this for years!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: q
Most excellent soup! As with most soups, this needs to sit overnight for best flavor. Linguicia is hard to find but worth the effort (usually in the smoke sausage section). I left the potatoes in small cubes. I simmered in the crockpot because I like the kale well done. This was a hit with our guests!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Jenn
I loved this soup as a child. I tried it this way but I really wasn't very happy with the outcome. Here is some advice. I added 2 splashes of half and half cream and a handful of medium cheddar cheese. After that not only did my kids inhale it they asked me for more the next day!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: mmaehler
Great soup. A nice blend of rich and creamy from the potato base, exciting spicy bites of sausage (we used the spicy kind)and fresh tasting healthy kale in every bite. At first I thought there was no way all that kale would mix in but it did just fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: JMPADAMS
I substituted chorizo for the linguica and added a can of hominy. The kids, who will rarely eat anything green, loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: jcwharton
Excellent. Used smoked Polish sausage, instead of linguica, which I'll be sure to try next time. Still turned out wonderfully. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: LUNARIA72
I thought the soup came out okay, but a little more bland than other kale soups I had before. Perhaps I should've substituted chourico for linguica. Felicia
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches