My reviews (166)

Caprese skewers

Love caprese salad? This little nibble is like a mini caprese in every bite. So easy to prepare, yet impressive when beautifully laid out on a white serving platter.
Reviews (166)


22 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Crystal S
These are the best for a health conscious appetizer, but to help kick up the flavor, try adding and reducing balsamic vinegar. To reduce your vinegar, pour into a small saucepan; bring to a boil over medium-high heat constantly stirring to prevent scorching the vinegar. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer until the vinegar has reduced by half. Set aside, and cool to room temperature. When ready to serve, drizzle over the appetizer. For different variations/flavor try adding garlic, red pepper flakes, etc., while reducing. Note: the vinegar will naturally sweeten as it reduces and will keep for months properly stored.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: LYNNINMA
Thank you, ALZ. These were delicious and oh so easy. I did, however, add to each toothpick a quarter of a slice of thinly cut prosciutto and drizzled the lot with garlic-infused olive oil to kick it up a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Mar 2010
I made this, but I used long skewers and repeated the pattern a couple of times then put them in a clear wide mouth vase filled with marbles for display it was the talk of the party, beautiful and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Bullyluv
I have made this appetizer many times. I use the mozzarella balls that come in a marinated oil. I then drizzle some balsamic vinagrette salad dressing over the finished product. This just adds a bit more flavor. The are very well received everywhere I take them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
This was just the perfect addition to our breakfast plate this morning. Cheese, basil and tomatoes are not something either Hubs or I would make a point to snack on, so this was an ideal way to get us both to eat something good for us - not to mention they looked kinda cute on the plate. I didn't halve the cherry tomatoes - I thought they looked prettier whole. The fresh mozzarella balls are called bocconcini and are packed in a watery brine. They're worth seeking out to make these.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 May 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
So simple, yet so delicious! This makes a great little appetizer not only for its color but also for its freshness and flavor. I left the cherry tomatoes whole and these were perfect served with wine and crusty Italian bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Gelene
These are so good! I marinated my mozzarella pearls in an Italian dressing made with balsamic vinegar over night. Got soooo many rav reviews, and requests for the recipe. Thank you for such a flavor full and fun one bite idea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Linda Rose
The 1st time I made this I followed it to a tee but the 2nd time I poked a few little holes in the sides of the tomatoes with a toothpick. They absorbed better & quicker I think. ?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: My4boys
I bought the mozzarella already flavored with spices and in oil so I skipped the olive oil, salt/pepper step and it turned out fantastic. I love Caprese and think this is a great idea! Next time I may add a bit of basalmic out of my own preference but really, this was a good, quick snack that all enjoyed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Cat Lady Cyndi
So delicious and cute! I love Caprese salads, and make them often in the summer. I never tried making these little appetizers, and they are so easy and look so pretty on a platter. I didn't half the tomatoes I left them whole. Next time I make these, I'm going to use the marinated mozzarella balls, and use the seasoned oil from them to drizzle over these. A splash of balsamic with the olive oil is good also. Thanks for sharing this
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches