My reviews (20)

Homemade egg noodles

This is a fail-safe recipe for egg noodles which you can use in your favourite soups, pasta dishes or Chinese-inspired stir fries and noodle salads. As with all homemade pasta, there is no comparison to dried!
Reviews (20)


26 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: firstmenace
Very easy to make added 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1/4 teaspoon of chilli powder for a bit off added flavour very little water is needed about 1-2 tablespoons as I used 3 large free range eggs.
 
15 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Melissa Davis
My noodles turned out well overall. The main complaint I have with this recipe is that no ballpark amount of water is indicated, and I initially added too much (even though I've made similar egg noodles before). I had to add a lot more flour to counteract my mistake, and it may have impacted the flavor. To dry these noodles faster I spread them on cookie sheets and put them in an oven set to 175 for about 35 minutes. It worked very well. I suggest making a big batch (maybe double or triple) and freezing them to keep on hand so that you can have homemade taste without all the prep work each time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JENIDLER
Easy to make and traditional home cooking at its best, my family went wild for these noodles in simple chicken soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Max Jones
Although I used the recipe as a rough guideline (I'm one of those cooks that dosen't really measure anything unless baking) it's easy enough for even a novice cook to make an excellent meal. Being single it's easy to slip into eating fast food day after day, but having simple and easy to follow ways to make childhood fravorites saves not only money, but also our health. Thank you for the Recipe (I never had made egg noodles before, despite cooking nearly every day for almost 6 years)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: bensmom
This is the way my mother and I made noodles, with the exception of the furham wheat flour. The rolling and cutting instructions are right on. Drying is important. I've always liked my noodles quite thin but never even guesstimated the thickness. These, when dried will freeze very well so you can always have them on hand when you need/want them. Thanks for the post cause "the old ways" are being forgotten along with the art of cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Ellen
Great recipe when you think that you have them rolled thin enough roll them more. I cooked them fresh stir gently and be sure your broth is at a good rolling boil. Do not over cook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Trey and Zach
good recipe but my best friend (zach) and i (trey) did it in 15 minutes not 3h and 50m and it took 5m of prep and then we let it dry for about 5m then we put it in with our chicken and chicken broth to make chicken and noodles
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: VIVALASVEGAS
I don't know what I did wrong, but these noodles turned out terrible, too hard, not a good flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Micheal D Lease
Tasted pretty good. I used 5 eggs and maybe 1/2 cup water. I think I rolled them to thick. But I'd try it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: famkjsm
I use 3 half shells of water and then a little more if needed
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches