My reviews (21)

Sekanjabin (Persian ginger syrup)

Sekanjabin (sometimes spelled sekanjubin or sekanjamin, among others) is a delicious and refreshing Persian drink that dates as far back as the 10th century AD. The syrup lasts indefinitely, and is also nice to drizzle over fresh fruit, so it's great to have around. Enjoy!
Reviews (21)


01 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: TraceySheehan
Delicious!
 
30 May 2015
Reviewed by: chemeng48
I tried this with red wine vinegar and gives it a lovely deeper colour. Great for warm day.
 
07 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: sueb
I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. After straining off the ginger, it was delicious to eat! When adding the water to make the drink, I found that a 4 to 1 ratio was best!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Burny
Crazy good. I LOVE ginger, and ginger ale. I can never find ginger ale with enough ginger for me. This was perfection. I used seltzer water instead of regular water to get my fizz on. One note I would like to make. The first time I made this I used jarred minced ginger. It does not have nearly enough flavor. Fresh ginger is imperative. My first attempt I cut the recipe down to five serving and I still ended up using nearly half a cup of jarred ginger. I really could not taste it. Another recipe on here that I tried said to use white balsamic. I used that in one of my experiments. I found that you can change up the profile of this just by playing around with your vinegar. I think when I get bored one day, I will try using vodka in or sherry in place of the vinegar just to see what would happen. Thanks again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Melba
This is so good. I stopped drinking wine about a month ago and this is a great relaxing subsitute. I only used 2 1/2 cup of sugar. I poured it with ice and fresh lemons.... Soooo Good and good for you! Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 May 2012
Reviewed by: Kasey H.
This is a delicious and refreshing drink just in time for summer. My family loved it! I like the fact that you can make it strong or just flavor your water slightly. I made it with the red wine vinegar, and I am looking forward to trying it with the white wine vinegar as well. Cheers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 May 2015
Reviewed by: Dee Cribb
Shut the front door! And the back door! Then lock em both cuz I'm not sharing this! Because I had frozen ginger, I added a quite bit more than called for. Don't be me. Man, is it spicy! It tones down a good deal when added to sparkling water, though. Such a weird and wonderful recipe! :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: fairona
I sent my boyfriend to the grocery store for a few items and he came back with 2 ENORMOUS pieces of ginger (too funny!). I decided to try this recipe so it wouldn't all go to waste! It's delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: jordo
Perfect. I have been digging ginger lately and thought there had to be some ginger flavored drink out there to satisfy my craving and this nailed it. Made it exactly as written. Perfect for hot summer nights. This is the first recipe I have felt the need to leave a review on. Definitely worthy of five stars . can't believe it only has eight ratings(now)! Thank you so much for sharing
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: JenF
This is amazing mixed with club soda and has completely replaced store-bought soda in my home. As a bonus, the ginger that is left over after straining makes a great addition to salad dressings or chicken salad with grapes and apples (and can be frozen for use later - wasting something that tasty would just be so wrong!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches