My reviews (46)

Gingerbread coffee

This is a sweet, indulgent, warming drink for those who want a change from hot chocolate. The flavour is reminiscent of an aromatic gingerbread, with ginger, cinnamon and cloves all making an appearance! Serve with a gingerbread biscuit on the side for a real treat.
Reviews (46)


25 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: BuckwheatQueen
Delicious!!
 
26 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This was good, but the spices weren't near close enough to gingerbread for me. I made this a recipe for one and I used fat free half-n-half instead of full fat and I used Cafe Verona brewed coffee. It's tasty but not quite there for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: QuoVadis
My husband and I made this to sip while we decorated our Christmas tree. We've decided to make it a tradition! The molasses mixture can be kept on hand for visitors over the holidays.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Erinn
This is delicious! I am enjoying one of these now. All I had to use was Land O Lakes fat free creamer and I forgot to add whipped cream and it is still so rich and good that I will be skipping lunch. It's not a bad idea to strain out some of the spices so you don't get a big, spicy mouthful at the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: MAGOO00
I knew I'd love this...I used fat free half & half and omitted the whipped creme. Yum!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: HANNIBONNY
Ok...but not as good as I thought it might be. The spices made the drink a bit granulary. And I put in much less mix in the drink. Best to have at room tempeture when adding or it takes a long time to dissolve. Decent, but not great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: FUNKYDEMON
Fabulous! The only problem with this recipe is that my husband is now addicted to this stuff. We usually skip the whipped cream (out of laziness) but I've made this once using cinnamon whipped cream with great results. I also add some ground cloves directly to the molassas mixture instead of dusting it on top and sometimes I add a little ground nutmeg. We've used ordinary milk a few times instead of half-and-half, but it's not quite as good that way -- the cream smooths out the flavours somehow.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: LIZK65
Good! I didn't add the whipped cream but I am sure it would add to the richness of the overall product.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Spice It Up
I can only drink coffee if it is flavored with something. I think this recipe has really good flavor, but it was a little too sweet and too rich, I could not drink the entire cup. I will try it again with a few adjustments.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: STARS FAN
This is a real treat! Thanks Jennifer! A great alternative to hot cocoa.This is already a family favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches