My reviews (44)

Hong Kong style honey milk tea

Hong Kong style milk tea is super refreshing and easy to make at home. Poured over ice, it is especially nice for a treat on a summer's day. Use your favourite black tea bags if you don't have orange pekoe to hand.
Reviews (44)


23 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: happywifey
I tried this drink and really liked it but way too sweet for me. Instead of using the condensed milk, I used regular whole milk...loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: NineOne
Thanks for the recipe! I haven't had tea like this since I was in Japan, the taste is pretty much exactly the same, and brings back some great memories. I'm not much for sweet drinks so I used whole milk, and added honey, tasted, added, etc. until I was happy with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Avon- status quo PRO
Loved this tea. I used a Ceylon black tea instead of the standard Orange pekoe. Very nice way to use some of an opened can of sweetened condensed milk. I most definitely will make this again. Thanks Tao for submitting this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Perfect for my no-good-very-bad-day. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk but I made no other changes. Using the martini shaker, smart idea! That was the coolest idea. Really. Excellent milk tea. I'd like to try this with fat free half-n-half next time and see if it's just as good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Ildefonso
I had all the ingredients on hand so I decided to make this. It is very soothing and delicious. It reminds me of the bubble tea I have had at the Mall but minus the bubbles!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Sellzey
Thank you so much for posting this! I absolutely love milk tea! It was delicious - I halved the condensed milk and the honey, but I think it was still a tad to sweet. Then again, I always like things a little less sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Nici
Sweet enough, and strong enough that when your ice cubes melt, you'll never notice a change in flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Melissa Goff
I enjoyed this very much. I remember having it as a child when we were stationed in Guam. My parents had been in stationed in Japan and I remember my mom making this for me. It was lightly sweet and still had a nice little kick flavor of tea. Nicely done Tao. I know can't wait to make this for my kids. I did use decaf tea for that is all I use. And it was wonderful. Thanks so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: emily
Tasted great--my family loved it. I'm not even sure I got the proportions right because I was in such a hurry, but I'll definitely try it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 May 2010
Reviewed by: Totoro
This tea makes me so nostalgic! I didn't have ice ready, so I served the tea hot instead. I also substituted condense milk with evaporated milk (condense milk is too sweet), and I used English black tea instead of orange pekoe. Usually recipes call for sugar, so the honey was a great addition. I will definitely make it again. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed it immensely. Thank you for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches