My reviews (14)

Kalamari macaronatha

This is the easy version of the classic Greek dish macaronatha, which is octopus in a delicious tomato-based sauce served over macaroni, then topped with grated sheep's milk cheese.
Reviews (14)


13 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Maria Eriksson
This was really tasty (in spite of another reviewers silly suggestion to add Chinese sweet and sour sauce.) I did not cook the squid for 8-10 minutes before sauteeing. I only cooked it for 4 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 May 2002
Reviewed by: MEGAN555
This is very nice! You should serve it with chinese sweet and sour sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Mad Greek
Very nice. But even without having read the other comments, I reduced boiling time on the squid to 2 minutes, sauteed for maybe a minute. That was plenty. Squid came out with that nice snap to the bite that means it's done just so. White vermouth worked fine in place of white wine. Used some "potato onions" I'd picked up at the farmer's market earlier today. And sweet and sour sauce? Not in Greek food, thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Chef Mom R.D.
My husband has been talking about this meal since last summer when we had something very much like this in Greece. My husband and mother-in-law (who is 100% greek) loved it.I could not find Mizithra cheese, I looked in a greek cookbook which said there is really no substitute but to try pecorino romano.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Gabyota
I wish there were more stars so I could give this recipe a higher rate - THIS WAS SIMPLY DELICIOUS! Full of flavour, specially with that little kick from the cinammon. Wonderful. Thanks for sharing, I'm sure it will become a classic in my home.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 May 2005
Reviewed by: ETHANJOHN1
smelled great but the garlic and onion are over powering I would definately back off on cook times it was a little tuff when finished
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: ling-ling
lots of stars
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
jojo quas said:
Used different ingredients. My husband has been talking about this meal since last summer when we had something very much like this in Greece. My husband and mother-in-law (who is 100% greek) loved it.I could not find Mizithra cheese, I looked in a greek cookbook which said there is really no substitute but to try pecorino romano.
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
02 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: Betty Haniotakis
This was very tasty - the whole family enjoyed it. Because I was using frozen calamari already cut into rings, I skipped the 2nd step. I cooked the calamari about 12 min, not the 15-20 min. mentioned. Here in Greece, I don't usually use myzithra, but have a wide choice of other Greek cheeses that the supermarket delicatessen grates fresh for me. I think that almost any hard grated cheese would do fine. The reason I gave it a 4* instead of 5 is because of the confusion about the cooking time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: little_calamari
I followed the recipe to the letter and it was very, very good. I was worried about cooking the squid for so long, but it came out lovely. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches