My reviews (186)

Creamy Oyster Stew

A simple, yet delectable way of preparing oysters. Fresh oysters are simmered together with sauteed shallots, celery, single cream and seasonings. Serve with crusty bread to soak up the sauce.
Reviews (186)


28 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: BUDDYMO
APRIL 2010 UPDATE From: Buddy Sizemore Over the years I've experimented with my original Oyster Stew recipe, so I wanted to share the following information with you folks. A nice addition to my recipe would be to finely minced one large potato (I like Yukon Gold best), then sauté the potato with the minced celery and shallots. Also, after considering some of the comments that a couple of viewers mentioned concerning the "floating" celery and shallots that their husbands didn't particularly care for, I experimented using a microplane to finely grate both the shallots and celery then add them in with the butter and finely minced potato. Before I microplaned the celery I cut the stringy layer off the celery stalks. This is easy to do with a potato peeler This is only a suggestion for thoes who may not like the larger peices of celery and shallots but still want the flavors. I however enjoy the texture. Another tip would be to allow the half & half or whipping cream (which ever you use) to come to room temperature. Also drain the liquid from the oysters then add it to the half & half at the beginning of cooking . This will cut down the time it takes to bring the mixture to a rolling simmer/boil. This is my family's favorite indlugence. I ALWAYS USE FRESH OYSTERS! Thank's to all who have posted reviews, I'm thrilled that the majority enjoy my recipe! And, with respect to the FEW negative reviews...well that just leaves more stew for the of us! Buddy Sizemore
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: BAZAARBAKER
I made this for my dad. He has eaten a lot of oyster stew in his 77 years and he says this is the BEST oyster stew he has ever eaten. It's amazing how something so simple can be so delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Genell in MN
This turned out so well. Since I'm in MN I used canned oysters. I grew up on them in my oyster stew, so I figured it would be fine. The taste is fabulous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: RECIPIEMASTER
very easy and hearty dish with enough delicious butter to satisfy people who would not normally go anywhere near an oyster in it's unsubmerged format! Buy oysters in the shell even if you never opened one, as you can pop them in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes to loosen them up, and then use a paring knife to cut the meat from the shell. This is oyster season (R months) and 2 dozen oysters is enough for this recipe. Reserve all liquid exuding from the oysters and strain before adding to the stew. The microwave method seems like a hideous shortcut but opening them by hand at the last minute for dinnertime is a pain too! Good cooking!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: IW8FORSNO
This was very easy and foolproof. The taste was surprisingly delicious even though there were so few ingredients. We added a few oyster crackers before serving and it was exceptional. I highly recommend this stew!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: JULISMAMMA
OK, here in rural NC, shallots and fresh oysters are hard to come by. Funny, I thought a container WAS fresh... vs. fried and frozen. Anyway, this was INCREDIBLY EASY... HOWEVER you MUST keep stirring. I got distracted and it boiled and curdled a bit. But still yum. Next time I'll search harder for shallots and add more pepper. Dice the celery finer too. A potoato would be a good touch... make it go further. Will revisit for the holidays. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Maxtonio
Very good. Used 2 cups half n half, 2 cups whole milk. Also used a red onion instead of shallots. Although the container of oysters was only 8 oz, it was still very tasty. This one's a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Kevin Anderson
Quite honestly I was looking for a recipe that stacked up against my mother's in my memory. This one did!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: SarahK
This recipe is fantastic and so easy to make. For some reason, it's hard to find the fresh containers of oysters here on the Florida east coast, so I've even used canned at times. It's good either way. I used a pint of fat-free 1/2&1/2 and a pint of fully-fat 1/2&1/2 the last time I made it and couldn't tell the difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: KELT
This was VERY good and easy. My husband didn't like as much because he wasn't crazy about the "floating" celery and onions, lol. But it was very tasty and the kids loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches