My reviews (12)

Fillet Steak with Browned Butter Sauce

Fillet steaks are pan-seared, then baked in the oven until done. The steaks are served with a delicious sauce made with garlic, ginger, shiitake mushrooms, sake, mirin, garlic chives and browned butter.
Reviews (12)


07 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: SarahD
Excellent flavor! I had to modify the cooking times because the meat/temp I had did not need 3 minutes per side to sear and took longer in the oven. Everything else worked very well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Caitlin
By far the best recipe I've ever made!!!! Sooooo good! The only thing I did though was cut in half the amount of butter. It was still delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Carolyn Arkell Terlouw
This has a really nice flavor. You can taste the ginger without it overpowering. My husband loved it. It made a great taste change for the steaks. Would probably work just as well with chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: MommyofRedHeads
I scaled this down to 2 servings and follwed the directions except for the garlic chives. I haven't seen them on the Japanese market so I just finely chopped onion to let it dissapear into the sauce with the added flavor. My husband and I loved the flavor of our angus tenderloin, melt in your mouth good. However, it is extremely rich (must be all that butter soaked into the mushrooms!). Next time I make this (and I will) I'm going to try half the butter half beef stock. Hopefully it will still be rich in flavor without all the extra calories and fat. Otherwise, I'll keep the recipe as is. A very gourmet meal for a special occasion without a lot of fuss. Make sure you know how much each steak weighs, mine was only 3.3 oz while my husband's was 8oz, so I had to brown it for less time and took it out of the oven much sooner and was medium. My husband's was also medium to medium well with the listed cooking times. Oh yeah, my two year old devoured the mushrooms so I'll make more next time just for her.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: luv2cook
Mmmmmm! Timing was just right for a lovely med-rare cut of tenderloin. I will be definitely making this again. The Asian flavors were fantastic. For a different flavor, I think I'll try sweet marsala with wild mushrooms and thyme next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: M B
This is obviously a huge deviation from the original recipe but I used shrimp instead of beef and it was quite good! The one drawback for me (and it could be due to the different meats used) was the overabundance of butter. I would definitely make it again though. MMM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Joli Romeo McAnany
This was a great and easy option for a dinner party. I LOVE ginger, so I enjoyed the sauce very much! This wasn't a recipe that I was overwhelmed by, but it was very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: phoenixlee
Way too much butter, but still a tasty dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Annabel
Good roast with an Asian twist.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: SWEENEYWORLD
butter reduction is superior
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches