My reviews (14)

Russian Pashka

Pashka is a Russian cheesecake-like dessert, made to celebrate Easter. It is made from cream cheese, cottage cheese, soured cream, butter, sugar, almonds and currants. This is a no-bake dessert, but does need to chill for at least 8 hours.
Reviews (14)


20 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Tania
First of all, the Russian dish is called PASKHA (pas-kha), not "pashka". Secondly, it is not just a dessert eaten with bread. It is a special dish you make once a year, for Easter, and eat it with the Russian Easter cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: StephanieM
I don't think this recipe is quite authentic enough to be called pashka, but is pretty tasty nonetheless. Traditional pashka is a molded cheese and uses farmer's cheese and boiled egg yolks. I like to use blueberries in place of currants (traditionally raisins), and I highly recommend opting for ricotta cheese over sour cream. Throw in some freshly-grated lemon rind and a dash of rosewater and chill in miniature bundt molds overnight. Garnish the finished cheese mold with a sprig of mint and a lemon curl and serve with a dense and crusty sweetbread. Your brunch guests will sing your praises.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: JAYMDY
Pashka is traditionally served within my extended family (Mennonite background) as a bread at Easter. This recipe sounds like the pashka 'cheese' used as a spread for the sweet and thick crusted bread. I have heard the cheese is best made with 'real' cottage cheese (from local farmers) rather than that found in a local grocery store. The texture is much finer and it provides a richer taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Elenia
Not exactly a Paskha, but quite good. If u want this to become authentic, just don't use cream cheese but try to find full-fat cottage cheese, like 18%. Oh, and it's a dessert served on Easter only
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: sassycents
OMG this was so simple and so good. I also did not use currents. I soften rasins and used them. You can subsituted almost any fruit or just leave out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Shannon74079
Very good! I used chopped peaches instead of currants. We celebrate Ostara, and used this dish as part of our feast. I recommend this dish for anyone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Irene
I mother made Pashka every Easter and used vanilla bean and yellow raisins. She used a plastic flower pot with holes and lined it with cheese cloth so that the liquid could drain. It was served as a dessert. I cut down on the sugar because of the raisins I used.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Trevi70
Pashka is one of my favorite Easter time dishes. I LOVE this recipe! So easy to make and it tastes like cheesecake filling! I leave out any raisins or almonds as everyone in my family likes it smooth. This was the 1st time I added lemon extract to it and it was surprisingly good. Perfect pashka if you ask me!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Dr. Donald H.
Very good recipe! In times past this was eaten only once per year but now it is becoming a general holiday dessert eatne at many holidays!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Just me
This was great! I don't like currants and I didnt have almonds so I put a drop of almond flavoring in the mix. I would probably cut down the sugar if I was not going to use the tart currants but it was still really wonderful! Thanks for the recipe Jackie! I will make it often!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches