My reviews (39)

Perfect Coquito

Coquito originates from Puerto Rico. It's typically served around Christmas time and is similar to an alcoholic eggnog. It's made by blending water with condensed milk, dark rum, coconut milk and ground cinnamon.
Reviews (39)


01 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Brownie1
I boil 3 cinnamon sticks in 3 cups water. Let it cool. Then put cinnamon water in blender w/1 can evap milk, 1 can condensed milk, 1 can coconut milk and 1 tsp vanilla extract and Rum(I use Malibu Rum/coconut flavor). NO EGGS. Serve on the rocks and garnish w/ground cinnamon. Yummy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Dami
Yep, THIS is coquito. My abuelo made it every Christmas for the parranderos-Christmas carolers who show up with guitars, guiros, drums and maracas at your house at 3 am, and won't leave til you feed them. Real coquito does NOT have eggs in it. It's just sweet milk, coconut milk, rum (dark or white, we're not that picky as long as it's Puerto Rican rum ;-) )and cinammon, just like this. Good job!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Mari Diaz
I did not care for this recipe. Coquito I and Coquito II are the closest recipes to home (PUERTO RICO)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: LADYDRAKE
I followed Brownie1's directions with a few changes: I boil 3 cinnamon sticks in 3.5 cups water. I want to end up with 3 cups of cinnamon water so I add a bit more to account for evaporation. Topped it off with water to get a full 3 cups. Let it cool. Then put cinnamon water in blender w/1 can evap milk, 1 can condensed milk, 1 can coconut milk and 1 tsp vanilla extract the first time. The second time I tried with coconut cream and it was a bit too sweet so I then added a can of coconut milk and it was PERFECT! With just the coconut milk it was a bit too thin but with both the milk and cream, it was thicker and delicious. You can leave as is so the kids can enjoy as well and add rum to individual servings for the adults. Def serve on the rocks. My mom (born & raised in PR and JUST came home from winter break over there) declared it PERFECT so this is how I'll be making coquito from now on. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: sweetrican
This recipe has been modified. It doesnt taste bad at all.I grew up making this special drink with my grandparents. Its suppose to be an eggnog. I normally use eggs, bacardi 151, anise,orange peel,coco lopez and a couple more ingredients. Hopefully i can post this recipe before christmas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: DrCookiePR
I think that other recipes that include egg yolk take the true taste of coquito. This recipe was rich and creamy, so far the best one I have ever made. I made this as a gift and everybody loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Lu
This was delicious. Brought back very fond memories of my childhood when my Puerto Rican father made this special drink on Christmas Eve. It was the only time he would allow the kids to take a sip of an alcoholic beverage. I haven't had it in years, but it tastes exactly like what I remember. Very sweet!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Jstar
This will be good but if you want it great. Boil the cinnamon sticks in the coconut milk instead of water. Use only 1 can of that Milk and use a can of cream of coconut instead. You still need the water because it does get thick so definitely use the 1/2 cup of water. I also use 2 cups of Rum....Woohoo
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Cat Rodriguez-Ferrell
I love coquito, so I really really loved this recipe...I will definetly make this over and over again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: ricovane
i like it because there no eggs in pr eggs were used to raise chickens not make drinks,eggs are a corrupted version not original.my wife loves it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches