My reviews (18)

Spinach and Feta Strudel

These mini strudels are perfect for finger food. Layered filo pastry is filled with a mixture of spinach, eggs and feta cheese, before being baked. Light, crispy and full of flavour!
Reviews (18)


15 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Caroline B.
Very good and impressive for not much work. I found phyllo hard to work with at first, but once you get the hang of it it's a breeze. However, 10 layers is a bit much, there's too much flaky and not enough filling that way. I recommend doing 4.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2006
I made these for a Thanksgiving appetizer. The taste was wonderful. I don't think 10 sheets is necessary. I found that a little much. I would also recommend you go heavy on the butter after you roll them. They dried out a little after cooling and the top layer flaked off. A little time consuming but a nice result.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: KH82
Rave reviews from everyone who ate these. I agree with the other reviewers regarding the number of layers of filo dough....less is more. I used 5 and that seems perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: KnotGypsy
I tried this recipe the other day. I took some liberties. I don't use my oven much in the summer as I don't have air conditioning in my kitchen. So, I used wonton wrappers instead of phyllo, and made little triangular pastries. I fried them in a skillet. They were delicious! I can't wait for the weather to cool off so I can try the recipe as it is written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: RuthAnn McGuire Cherny
Made this for a seminar at my husband's office. Doubled the recipe and served in a large chafing dish. It was delicious and very easy. I followed the recipe exactly. The few leftovers were taken home by staff. This is a keeper and I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 May 2006
Reviewed by: KWPRICE4
These are good! Was looking for something similar to what I had eaten in Greece, and these were close enough. We always make half a recipe, with a full bunch of green onions, 4oz. of feta, and two eggs, but still divide them into four rolls, because they seem to cook better that way. We just eat them as a meal, my boyfriend loves them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Susan T-O
Five stars for flavor, one star knocked down for how fussy these are to make. I think I was overly generous on the breadcrumbs & butter as I needed more than the recipe called for, and I was only using 5 sheets of phyllo as others have recommended. I prepped them on a sheet of foil & used that to help roll it up; waxed paper would probably have been a better choice although the foil worked well enough. Also, a fresh sheet for each roll-up would be good, as the foil got rather buttery & the outer sheet of phyllo stuck like a suction cup on the second roll-up. I will probably make these again although it's not going to be an everyday recipe for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Wenders
Wow, what a lot of fussy work. In fact, they were a pain to make. The outcome was awesome though...5 stars for taste and texture. Next time however, it's off to Costco for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Sommer
Much better than I ever expected it to be. I'm not a huge spinach fan but I loved the flavor of the dill, feta, and spinach together. To cut the calories I substituted butter flavored cooking spray for the butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: L. R.
Didn't need so much oil to saute the onions, 1/4 cup probably would have been fine. They turned out good though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches