My reviews (48)

Homemade chicken jalfrezi

Who needs a takeaway when you have this recipe? Use lamb or beef, if you prefer.
Reviews (48)


19 May 2004
Reviewed by: GERIFITZ
Fragrant while cooking and tasty while eating. I doubled all of the spices because our family found it too mild. Adding a little chicken or vegetable broth is helpful as it tends to dry out while cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: JUSTKIMMERS
I added more garam masala only because I love the flavor of a stronger curry. Does Wajiha have more recipes available ? =-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Jewelsmom
I cooked this in a 4 Quart slow cooker on low for 6-7 hrs. Did not need extra fluid. Used only two raw boneless chicken breasts cut up. Added 1/2c whole canned chickpeas, 1/4 c golden raisins, and doubled the spices. But, still needed a bit more kick, so next time I will add more spices with heat (e.g., HOT chili powder). We served over Couscous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: Erimess
I thought this was pretty good, easy to make and a nice low fat recipe. I wasn't sure what garam masala was, but got the impression it's like curry so I used that. (It worked anyway.) Only thing was that I didn't think it was very filling. I'd like to try making more of the sauce and putting the extra over rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: JePeuxCuisiner
I read over the reviews and took everyone's adjustments into consideration. I did, however, make some additional adjustments, so I am rating the basic recipe as best I can since I "tweaked" it so much. I think it's a good basic recipe to start with, but it would not have been as pleasing left as is. I doubled the spices and the vinegar. I also used canned tomatoes mainly to get more juice. I have added chicken broth or vegetable broth, depending on what I had on hand, and both work well since this dish needs more moisture (especially if you are putting it over rice). I used green, red and yellow (or, sometimes, orange) peppers to the recipe because the red peppers are very sweet and the other colors are not just pretty, each adds a slightly different flavor. I added chickpeas to mine because if you look at the photo attached to this recipe, it clearly shows chickpeas in the picture and the recipe did not call for chickpeas. I was very confused about the photo containing chickpeas and it did make me wonder if this photo was the author's finished dish? Or, perhaps, she forgot to add the chickpeas to the recipe? Anyway, I added them and we enjoyed the dish once I had made considerable adjustments.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Lupin Pooter
Very good recipe - and very quick and easy. Doubled the amount of spices, but that's just personal taste. Is even better as leftovers as flavours have a chance to infuse overnight. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: cowgirll
This was delicious! I'm glad I sought out the garam masala (had to go to a specialty store for that one!) because it added so much flavor! I substituted leftover turkey for the cooked chicken and had to use a yellow bell pepper instead of red, and it all turned out great. I think next time I make it, I'll add some golden raisins and some nuts, maybe almond slivers or cashews. This would also be delicious with that Indian paneer cheese mixed in. Served it over jasmine rice and it was a hit. I'll be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: hwaynek
Everyone loved this! It will be prepared again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: FORGOT
Excellent recipe..I cut the recipe down to serving for 2.. I had it 2 nights in a row..was even better the second night...:-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Ignacio Greiffenstein
It was great, and sooooo easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches