My reviews (184)

Pork Loin Chops in Tomato Sauce

This pork dish is simple, tasty and easy to make. Pork loin chops are pan-seared, then simmered in a seasoned tomato sauce. Serve with rice, potatoes or pasta.
Reviews (184)


23 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: Kaddie
Excellent recipe! Quick and easy
 
28 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Alanthack
Excellent very taste I added a little more sugar to cut into the spice and tartness a little
 
04 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Angie
We loved this recipe. We made a few minor changes by deleting the fennel and using diced tomatoes instead of sauce. I also did not use the water.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Cinnamon Ray Swires
This recipe was yummy. I served it over basmati rice and my husband loved it! I too left out the fennel (neither one of us like it), and used stewed tomatoes instead of sauce. I seasoned the chops prior to cooking and left everything else exactly as the recipe said. It will be on my new menu rotation! I would like to add that if the pork is tough, it was probably frozen prior to cooking. Freezing meat denatures the protein of the meat and makes it tough. I suggest that for the most tender and flavorful dishes, use fresh meat. This is especially true for steaks, roasts, chicken breasts and chops (solid cuts of meat).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Ms. Hot~n~Divine
I made this tonight, it was a very easy and tasty dish. I followed the suggestions of the previous posters and utilized a can of diced tomatoes with my 6 cutlets. I didn't have any fennel, so I had to omit that as well. I loved all the spices and would recommend seasoning your pork loins before browning. I also added two cloves of crushed garlic while cooking the sliced onions. I also added a bit of Italian salad dressing while it simmered. Next time I won't add the water either, although it didn't hurt the taste. I made a side of rice, with green beans and bisquits. Turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Aspiring Chef Rita
Very simple, quick and delicious. I followed recipe exactly except for decreasing the amount of chili powder and it was still very spicy. I am rating it 4 stars because this should be called SPICY Tomato Pork Loin Chops. I served it with the boxed Pasta Roni - Angel Hair Pasta with Parmesean cheese -it was a great compliment and absorbed some of the heat!!!! Salad was another "cool" addition! I will make this again. Thanks submitter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Heather
Very good, and easy. And, thankfully, a good pork chop recipe not so heavy in sugar that my diet can't handle it! It's always nice to find healthy and tasty in one dish. I spiced the pork chops before browning, as per some other suggestions I saw a couple of people called this tough--- I really have no clue how that could be with all the liquids in the recipe, unless they spent too long browning or had freezer-burned chops. Mine were VERY moist.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: AZWILDCATFAN
I love this recipe! It's one of my favorites. I especially love the fennel - I double it. I crush the fennel and add it with the sugar when I cook the onion. I double the tomato sauce and add a can of diced tomato, substituting the juice for the water.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Janet Cox Tuhey
I haven't made this yet, but it is almost identical to the Old West Style Pork Chops recipe I was given over 30 years ago and is a family favorite. Preheat oven to 350. I use 1 can diced tomatoes, juice and all, fill the tomato can with water, swirl it around a bit and add to skillet. Put 1 c. rice in a casserole dish; stir in the liquids from the skillet; top with browned chops and bake until all of the liquid has been absorbed - about 45 minutes. This works well in a crock pot, too; add a second can of diced tomatoes and cook on low 8-10 hours.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: RFRIESEN1
This is not a good dish at all. The pork came out tough. The taste was all tomato. We all agreed, over dinner, that we would not make this dish again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches