My reviews (44)

Luscious Tzatziki

This tzatziki is different from other recipes. It's thick, creamy and packed full of flavour. Yoghurt is drained, then combined with grated cucumber and seasonings. Enjoy as a dip, sauce or spread.
Reviews (44)


16 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I used homemade roasted garlic and I doubled the dill weed because I used dried instead of fresh. This is INCREDIBLE. I cannot stop eating it. NOTE: For homemade roasted garlic, what I do is peel the outer layers of the garlic bulb leaving the bulb intact, place the bulb in a smallish oven-safe bowl (or a 6-cup muffin tin if you do it in bulk, like I do) drizzle with EVOO and cover with aluminum foil. Then, just bake for a half hour or so until the cloves are softened. Wa-la, roasted garlic. Also, if you do not have cheesecloth, you can drain your yogurt in layers of coffee filters in a colander.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 May 2007
Reviewed by: Matt Grifo
This recipe is GREAT I did the entire thing in the food processor started with the cucumber so I could remove and drain them and followed previous reviews reducing the garlic down to one clove. Good olive oil and fresh squeezed lemon juice are a must. A quick update, Greek style yogurt can be substituted for the drained yogurt it saves a LOT of time and is now available in most major supermarkets!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Adriana
This was awesome. It is a bit time consuming but only because you have to let the yougurt drain for a few hours. After that is ready, it's easy and very tasty. The recipe asked for lemon juice but the directions said vinegar. I just used the lemon juice. I dipped pita bread into it as a snack or appetizer, it's great. My Middle Eastern friend's family eats this frequently and he said mine turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Heidi in Bulgaria
This is the first time I've tried making tzatziki, so I can't compare this to other similiar recipes. However, while I liked the dip, we were overwhelmed by the garlic even though I used much less than called for in the recipe. Let's just say that I had to avoid breathing on anyone for about 24 hours! Next time I'll use a single clove of garlic and see if that works.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Sunkist
I didn't have cucumber on hand, so threw in a spoonful of sweet relish. The other ingredients masked most of the flavor of that, but all in all turned out to be a very good homemade tzatziki. I didnt drain the yogurt, too time consuming, and diced a little onion (very fine) into it as well. Turned out very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Leenie B
This is a wonderful recipe! I made 1/2 of a recipe to go with gyros I was making and we had plenty. I started out with Greek yogurt which I think is slightly thicker than regular yogurt. I only had time to drain it about 45 minutes. I shredded the cuc's and let them drain about 30 minutes. The recipe doesn't call for this step but I think it gave me a better result and I was concurrently waiting for the yogurt to drain. When I put it all together I was very happy with the consistency. It was the perfect thickness and tasted just like what is served in Greek restaurants.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: Jennifer R.
This was pretty good, although I think vinegar was left out of the ingredients. It seems like there is a flavor missing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: LDEGTIAR
I entertain frequently and this recipe was a big hit during our Olympic parties. Although time consuming, draining the yogurt really makes a difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: WISEREADER
Making a half recipe, I drained the 16 oz. of yogurt over night using a clean nylon stocking, and got nearly a cup of liquid out. Dry dill weed works well also. This is what I was hoping and looking for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: JEN
This was my first time making this, but I chose this recipe from the others because I thought it would be a better consistency and I'm not a fan of mint. It came out great. Just like my favorite greek restaurant. I'm making it again tonight. I think draining the yogurt is essential for the correct texture. By the way...I made it with low-fat yogurt and nobody could tell
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches