My reviews (19)

Vasilopita (New Year's Cake)

This Greek cake is rich and delicious. A coin is hidden in the cake batter before it is baked, the one who finds the coin will receive good luck for the rest of the year.
Reviews (19)


02 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Ageliki
I baked this cake for my family's New Year's day brunch. Being Greek, I can tell you that this was much closer to the traditional recipe than you would find in a bakery. It's denser and has a lighter flavour. Everyone loved it and commented on how it was much better than store bought version. My 3 year old nephew ate an entire piece by himself! A definite keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: CBROCKET
I thought this cake taste great. I put several$1 coins wrapped in foil. Everyone thought it was fun. This cake tastes like pound cake. If anyone finds it to sedate, it would go very well with chocolate sauce and whipped cream or strawberries and vanilla ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ANTHRAKAS
This is indeed a traditional Greek recipe. Almonds and the sesame seeds are not essential but definitely add to the flavour. The sesame seeds in particularly are used a lot by Greek Bakers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: VERONIQUE_3
It is a very good cake, especially for special ocasions and parties. Something fun to enjoy at a party and tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: MOUDRO
I am Greek and this has been a tradition in my family for a long time. I was pleased to find this recipe as I lost my grandmother's version of the dish and this one made a great replacement.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Karen Stenersen
This was a hit at my New Years' Eve Dinner. The only thing I did differently was I added an ogange glaze over the top. This gave a little sparke to the top and added a little hit of flavor. I will be making this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: orestescalpis
made this for New Year's and I even got the coin - didn't cheat...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: MEGKELLEY
this was good, but not fantastic, it was a bit on the dry side, but hiding the coins in it was a hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: emrilwannabe
The cake was rather bland but we had fun with it at a new year's eve partythis year.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: MMMICHELLE
I thought this was a very nice tradition. The cake wasn't the tastiest I've made, but it was enjoyable none the less.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches