My reviews (16)

Custard filling for tarts or pastries

For variety, try stirring a teaspoon of cocoa powder, 400g of desiccated coconut or 3 sliced bananas to the filling just before refrigerating.
Reviews (16)


11 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: lcb
This is far too sweet and it doesn't set when it's chilled. I don't understand why it calls for 400g of suagr?
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MAXGRL
The eggs and milk part needs to be whisked before even turning on the heat because the mixture needs to be stirred CONSTANTLY (NOT "Frequently"!!!) It will burn if you stop stirring it even for a moment. It seems to be good other than that.
 
13 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: carolchill
The eggs and milk part needs to be whisked before even turning on the heat because the mixture needs to be stirred CONSTANTLY (NOT "Frequently"!!!) It will burn if you stop stirring it even for a moment. It seems to be good other than that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Patricia
This was good. The recipe worked out and it did make a pudding and was not hard to make at all. On the down side, when using it as a pie filling with a graham cracker crust, it seeps more liquid than I would like a pie to. It sets up fine but then liquid seeps from it. I made it with cocoa powder for a chocolate pudding pie and I topped it with whipped cream. I made it for my son because he hates Key Lime and I made Key Lime for my husband, and my son did not care for it at all. He might just be more used to the instant puddings. It is really important with this pudding to really get all the white away from the yolks, my yolks were not too eager to fully separate, despite my use of an egg separator, so I had little bits of curdled egg white in it, not a lot but it freaked my son out. I did not have a problem with burning. I use quality thick bottom pots and have an electric stove and heated it on medium heat and stirring with a wire whisk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: MammaCupp
I just eyeballed the amount of cocoa and it tastes great but seems runny... maybe less milk next time i make it. Otherwise I loved it...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: K.Adair
My childhood pleasure was visiting grandma and she would whip up a batch of chocolate pudding just for me. So creamy.This is the closes I can find "Loved it". I add 1-1/2 sugar and 3tbs coco, 1tsp of cinnamon & substituted half of the milk for half & half cream "yummy"
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Makaela Peters
I used this recipe as a chocolate pudding to eat on its own, with cocoa added. Of course, the first ingredients MUST be whisked before heating. I used 1 cup sugar and 1/4 Splenda to sweeten it (just over a half-sweet ratio), and it was VERY sweet. I would stick to just under 1 cup sugar next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: fivefootfive
Excellent! Soooo much better then the boxed stuff!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Carin Simon
It was really yummy and so easy. I used 3tbs of cocoa which was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jan 2019
Reviewed by: julesC
Pudding would not get thick enough or set up. Put into a pie and it was liquid. Had to throw the pie away. Followed recipe exactly. Flavor was good, but probably needs more corn starch for this much milk. Also, this made twice as much needed for a pie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches