My reviews (88)

Apple stuffed squash

A delicious baked squash recipe. The wonderful combination of apples and Cheddar cheese is used to stuff acorn squash halves. Serve as a side dish with anything you fancy.
Reviews (88)


29 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: cz1155
this was delicious. the cheese had me wondering, but it ended up making a gooey, tasty filling for the squash. only thing i will do different next time is to hit the squash with a bit of salt before i put the filling. great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: dulceanna
My family was delighted with the squash! I made a few changes in technique. I salted the squash, as another reviewer suggested and also flipped the squash, so that the acorn "bowl" was in the water. I soaked the raisins in 1/2 cup of hot apple juice and then added the apple juice to the apple mixture. Also, I scooped the squash from the acorn and added it to the apple mixture. It was delicious. My brother was literally scraping his acorn "bowl".
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: dhiemorgan
Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing. The only thing I changed was that I took the squash out and placed it in a baking dish. I made an indention in the center and placed the filling inside. Yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: ivanandmarcia
Yummy. I added bacon bits! Tricky part was separating the rind and the squash.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Coney
I loved it! I have to echo the hesitation about the cheddar cheese, but I used less than was suggested and it really just added to the consistency, though I didn't taste much in the flavor. I used dried cranberries and honey instead of the brown sugar. Scooped out the majority of the squash and mixed with the apple mixture, just for ease. Was very happy with the result, even my friend who really doesn't like cheese was happy with it. Yummy vegetarian meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: lynn
very good , used apple smoked cheddar and omitted the raisins,
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: linda2d
This was very good. It was my first attempt at any kind of acorn squash and I was pleasantly surprised. I didn't change the technique other than using the grill rather than the oven. We had a whole bag of golden delicious so I used one of those and since I don't like raisins, I used dried cranberries instead. This will be repeated for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Estella
I left out the raisins and added some parboiled beets to the apple mixture - it turns everything a beautiful colour and looks stunning against the squash! My husband, who generally hates veggie dishes, said this was one of his favourite foods of all time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Karolyn Abreu
Absolutely wonderful. My only twist was adding some pepperoni to offset the sweetness and microwaving it to cut the cook time. Cut in half, seeded, 1.5 inches of water in a bowl and placed it cut side down. Used a fork and poked the skin a bit and 15-20 in the microwave. While it was cooking I prepped the rest and turned on the oven to 350. Once completed almost all the water had either absorbed or evaporated. I stuffed it and put it in the oven so that the cheese would melt. I saw some people mentioning that they were skeptical of the cheese, but it makes the dish gooey. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Sarah
i liked this well enough, though i found it very sweet. my fiancé raved and loved it, so 5 stars from him!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches