My reviews (137)

Avocado and mango salsa

A wonderfully fruity, yet creamy salsa, made with ripe mango, red pepper, red onion and avocado. It's purely addictive. Serve as a side dish or use as a dip.
Reviews (137)


Comment:
05 Feb 2011
bexfoot said:
Used different ingredients. Take out the pepper as i don't like it
 
21 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: LHICKERS
Wow! I had a baby shower with way too many appetizers - the only one that was gone was this mango salsa. Costco has some delicious pre cut mango that made this super easy and delicious. Definitely let it sit in the refrigerator for about an hour before to get the full flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Chris D. Williams
Wow - beautiful, healthy, tasty! Modifications -- - Substitute juice of 1 lime for vinegar; - Start with 1/2 tsp salt and go up -- 1 tsp salt is too much for almost any recipe - Would probably be fine w/2 tsp olive oil - 1 Tbs was a little too much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
Great as a reference or starting point, but as is the case with many recipes I adjusted the recipe to suit my own tastes. I eliminated the sugar - for me it was totally unnecessary and may have even been counterproductive. In keeping with the tropical flair of the recipe I substituted fresh lime juice for the vinegar (loved that!) and added some chopped fresh cilantro. For my tastes, four stars as written and an unequivocal five stars with my modifications. Served this alongside crab cakes and there couldn't have been a more ideal accompaniment.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: RUTHIEV
I added a seeded & minced jalapeno to the recipe and served it over red snapper. HEAVEN!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Bunkogal
Great salsa or side dish! I used 1/2 cup of purple onion, and added 2 chopped green onions, along with 2 tblsp of chopped cilantro. Also substitued the vinegar with fresh lime juice- terrific over fish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: mandy
I love this recipe! I add corn and black beans and serve it with Jerk shrimp and scallops in soft torilla. It's always a hit and tastes so fresh.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa Dickens Langton
This is so good! My kids and I devoured the whole thing in about 10 minutes. I didn't have a red onion, so I substituted chopped green onion, plus I only used half a large red pepper, and I added chopped cilantro. Crumbled Cojita cheese (a Spanish cheese) would also taste great in this salsa. I think I will be making this again very soon. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: McBacon
This is delicious! I served it on top of broiled tilapia that I seasoned with lemon pepper. I had brown rice as a side, so I mixed the rest of the rice and salsa together for a tasty lunch
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: dutchcoco
tangy and sweet! I served it with plantain chips which complemented the salsa well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches