My reviews (56)

Creamy crab soup

A wonderfully delicious soup. This soup is lusciously thick and creamy, with crab meat dotted throughout. Serve as a starter or as a main, with crusty bread rolls.
Reviews (56)


09 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: CATGRE2157
This is awesome soup! The 2 keys to this soup are 1)Avoid the salt 2) Don't serve this soup on the day you make it. If this soup got a bad review, it was because it was served too soon. The gravy leaves a strange aftertaste on the day made but if you wait a day the crab overcomes the strange taste and makes this a great soup! We did add extra crab meat and a little more old bay.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: KIDTASTROPHE 13
The soup was excellent but as I made it, I made a few adjustments. The wine seemed too strong for my liking so I added only half a cup, when I sampled it before I added the salt I thought it was salty enough therefore I didn't add any at all, and instead of the gravy mix I added one can of cream of celery with one quarter cup of heavy whipping cream. Everyone who tried it thought it was definately restaurant quality.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
This was very good and easy. I also had a problem finding white gravy mix so I used McCormicks white sauce blend. My husband loved it. I thought it was a little salty so I will cut down on that next time. I will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: CURTISLEE
Indeed, this is the perfect crab soup recipe, Yvette! It's rich--exotic even--the kind of soup you would find in a top notch expensive restaurant. I've had this soup before, but can't place where or when. All I recall is that I loved it when I had it the first time--and loved it even more today since I was the one who prepared it! I doubled the recipe and I'm glad I did. The wine is a must. It's the wine that provides the warm, exotic base from which the soup is built. I used 3/4 of the wine that was recommended, but I wouldn't be afraid to use the full amount next time. I was wary of using all the wine that was called for after reading the reviews, but if you have a sophisticated palate and are used to having wine in recipes, it won't bother you. You will embrace it. I added about 1/2 of the hot sauce called for and didn't detect a change in the flavor. Honestly, I was afaid to keep going with the hot sauce. The soup was already so good that I didn't want to fiddle with it and chance that it wouldn't be as good post hot sauce. The batch I prepared did need salt and I added it one pinch at a time until it was perfect. If you use salted butter, you may not need any extra salt. Wow, this one gets a blue ribbon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: KRANEY
This was pretty good, although it wasn't as great as I was expecting. My only complaint was that the recipe came out way too spicy. Next time, I'll omit the hot sauce and cut the pepper back to 1/4 tsp. I decreased the butter to 1/4 cup, and used fat-free half-and-half, and it was just fine. Also, if the crabmeat you're using is pre-salted, there is most likely no need to add the 1/2 tsp. You can always add it later if it needs it. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Saveur
Just outstanding, restaurant quality and soooo company worthy! I did make a couple of changes to this recipe to accomodate 1 lb. of crab meat. I used the published amounts of butter and flour, then doubled the Old bay and Wocestershire, used double the chicken broth, and 1 1/2 cups white wine & half and half. In place of the gravy mix (could not find) I used a 12oz prepared white wine veluete sauce. Simply scrumptious. A winner for sure. Making this for Christmas Eve celebrations. Thanks for a very versitile and delicious recipe, Yvette.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: CDIAZ
I served this bisque-like soup as part of a New Year's Eve dinner and got rave reviews. However, I used a package of McCormicks "Chicken Country Sauce" instead of country gravy. All 8 guests asked for refills. It was so easy and elegant.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: SARAHJE
This was far from awesome. Sounded like it would be awesome, but was actually pretty horrible. Tasted like you were eating thick salty, gravy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: The Frugal Bungler
I can only rate this as Fair. The gravy simply overwhelmed the crab and other flavors.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: ERWILF
I should have heeded the warning one reviewer provided regarding the salt. The recipe is way too salty for my liking. It would have been a delicious and easy recipe. I will make it again minus the salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches