My reviews (39)

Grilled pak choi

A superb vegetable side dish to serve at your next BBQ. Pak choi is brushed with a seasoned butter mix, then barbecued to perfection. The leaves are perfect with burgers, steaks and even hot dogs.
Reviews (39)


22 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: cowardlylion
I only had baby bok choy, but tried to make the dish anyway. I cooked it for far less time, basically just enough time to get them on the grill, butter them, flip them over, butter them, then cook for a little bit. Some of the leaves did get a little burnt, but it was still amazingly delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Spunky Buddy
The key here is hot heat and fast. It keeps the thick part of the bok choy nice and crunchy and the leafy part crispy like a potato chip. Nice blend of seasonings. I used baby boy choy which I cut in half lengthwise. This is a make-again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 May 2011
Reviewed by: luvselvis
I could not believe how good this was! I put the bok choy into a grilling basket and kept stirring and basting it with the seasoned butter as it grilled. It took up less room on the grill that way
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Momi
My husband and I thought this was pretty good. I used baby bok choy and olive oil instead of butter... mixed the basting ingredients in a bowl, prepared the bok choy leaves, added them to the bowl, and massaged the oil throughout the leaves. I put the leaves directly on the grill. The ends of the leaves came out crunchy and a little burnt, the stalks were warm and tender. There were some bitterness, probably from the burnt pieces, but not all of the burnt parts were bitter. It was good, and I'll probably make it again. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: elizabeth
Just the change I was looking for from sautéing this veggie. I found the basting brush difficult to use on the leaves while grilling so I just put it all in a covered bowl with the ingredients and shook it around. Worked great and less work. Served with hamburgers and hot dogs. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: BB34
My son and I loved this, got him to try a new veggie! You could flavor it with whatever you like, it mostly tastes like the oil/butter seasoning you use. I used fresh garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: SLJ6
Because of the pouring rain tonight, I grilled this on my indoor grill. I also blanched the bok choy for just a minute or two first in salted boiling water. I used 1 1/2tblspns of olive oil instead of 1/4c of butter (I wanted to keep the fat content way down), kept the spices the same except the season salt which I used half of, and just 1/8tsp of fresh black pepper. Submitter has it down twice so I used the lesser. Thought 1tspn was extreme. Added red hot pepper flakes to mine. I enjoyed this! Might be better with baby bok choy since it may be more tender. Looking forward to making again and grilling outside for a more smokey taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: stimmer
Didn't love this. But I agree with another reviewer...I just think I don't love Bok Choy. It was a little soggy too?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Patty Cakes
This was really pretty good. I loved it and it had the wonderfully smoky flavor of the bbq. I made it next to the chicken I was grilling off. Quick and easy. Thank You Nom Nom for getting us to think Outside the box!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 May 2010
Reviewed by: sellout_cred
This recipe is amazing! It's easy and it goes QUICK!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches