My reviews (65)

Homemade Beef Stock

This beef stock is far superior than any store-bought variety. It takes a little while to make, but the results are really worth it. Use in any recipe that calls for beef stock.
Reviews (65)


15 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
This is definitely the way to make a good beef stock. The only change I made was to roast the bones for a lot longer at a lower temp. I actually roasted for about five hours in order to bring out the flavors. (Just a tip: every time I cut an onion, peel potatoes, carrots or chop celery, I save all the peels, put them in a zip lok bag and throw it in the freezer. In a few months I have a good start on my stock) The vegie and seasoning combos were perfect which created a wonderful stock. I used this recipe to make french onion soup. My hubby Drew and the kids order french onion almost every time we go out for dinner as their appetizer. I never do because of the high salt content, so I was very pleased to be able to make a wonderful stock and at the same time control the amount of sodium. My kiddies say "thanks Wolverine"!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Zaya
i've made my own beef-bone stock for yrs, but never thought to roast the bones until i stumbled across this recipe. i used whatever was on sale: beef marrow bones, and beef spare ribs, didn't have any parsnips so i omitted them. Added a whole bulb of garlic along with the roasting part. The stock came out AMAZINGLY AWESOME. The roasting gave the stock a whole new dimension of flavors and gave the stock a beautiful caramel color that my previous bone-stock recipes lacked. The roasted garlic scent was very obvious, i thought it added depth to the stock, but it might be too overpowering for non-garlic lovers. But overall, it's a beautiful stock that's worth the effort.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: mermaid
At last: a recipe contributor who knows the difference between beef stock and beef broth. Broth is made by simmering bones and beef pieces. Stock is made by roasting the bones first. They are two totally different foods. This one is excellent. Great for all kinds of recipes, but it makes an especially good French onion soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Gumby
Very good tasting beef stock. It is very time consuming and lots of work, but definitly worth it in the end. I will be using this stock to make onion soup. Since it is a complicated recipe I doubled it so that I can freeze some for later use. I used 6 lbs of beef ribs and doubled the rest of the ingredients. The ribs have more meat than soup bones so it still had a wonderfully rich flavor. The only small change I did was use beef bouillon instead of salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Debbie
This is, by far, the best beef stock I have ever made. It was simple to make, and I particularly like the long cooking time. I think a long cooking time makes the stock heartier. The only ingredient I couldn't get was the parsnip; so I would continue to make the stock without it. It is perfect exactly as I made it. I didn't even have to add extra salt or other seasonings. Thanks for this gem.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Susanna
I used whatever tired old veggies I had in the fridge, as well as whatever beef bones, old stewing beef, etc I had in the freezer. I made a huge pot to freeze in tubs for other recipes. After letting it cool and sit in the fridge for the night, I skimmed off the fat, discarded the veggies and bones and I shredded all the meat that was left to make chili in the slow cooker today.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 May 2000
Reviewed by: CINDY
Made this recipe using my Nesco roaster and am very happy with the result. This is a very easy recipe and smells delicious while simmering.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: IVOIRIENNE
Marvelous! Such a wonderful, easy thing to make. I left out the parsnips, because I never buy such things, as well as the tomato and garlic (because my son is allergic, sigh). I also, on the recommendation of my butcher, tossed in a couple of nice short ribs to add extra flavor, and I added about a teaspoon of paprika to give some of the punch that garlic would have given it. I used potato peelings instead of the potato flesh and roasted the bones/ribs/carrots/onions for a little over an hour at 400 degrees. I also let it simmer for a good bit longer than 5 hours to let it reduce. A wonderful result, and the house smelled amazing all day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: I peddle blooms
Amazing! My first attemp at homemade stock. This recipe wasn't complicated at all and great for a day cleaning around the house. I used beef ribs baked for an hour then basted them with tomato paste, added veggies and roasted an addl 30 minutes. DH was totally blown away. You cannot get this from a can. Thanks Wolverine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: WIFEMOMCOOKMAID
A keeper. I picked up beef shank bones and beef neck bones from my local butcher (very inexpensive). The neckbones had meat on them whereas the shanks were mostly just bone. Roasting at a lower temp for several hours is just what I did. Not wanting the onion and carrots to blacken, i removed those after the first hour of roasting and saved in the fridge until time to simmer. I shopped specifically for preparing this recipe, and glad I planned ahead. The end result was magnificant.. a well-rounded robust stock with the perfect flavor. This recipe yielded the full 8 cups (2 quarts). Next time I will double this recipe (using a 12quart stock pot) to yield a gallon. Gotta make sure you leave it covered while it simmers, otherwise all your good stock will evaporate. [To those who low-rate this and other recipes after having altered the recipe, remove your rating as it isn't fair to the submitter].
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches