My reviews (43)

Three Cheese and Beer Soup

A wonderfully cheesy soup. Sauteed celery, carrots and onion are simmered with chicken stock, Cheddar, Gouda, Parmesan and beer. A simple, yet robustly flavoured soup.
Reviews (43)


30 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Julie Lehnig-Bouge
Per the comments listed, I altered this recipe. I only used 1/2 cup of flour and added about 3/4 cup milk and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. It was the perfect consistancy. I also deleted the celery and carrots from the recipe and did not place the onions in the blender. It added a little texture to the soup. I will definately make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: MLTS
By far the BEST beer cheese soup I have tasted, and I've tried many! This was very similar to a local Irish Pub's beer cheese soup. I do not like those beer cheese soups that use velveeta or american cheese. I did add a hint of nutmeg to this, though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: JELLOB3P0
I am giving this recipe four stars, but not as a soup. It was much too thick and rich for a soup, but it made a great cheese fondue. Tastes like the cheese fondue from The Melting Pot. Next time I make it, I will cut up cubes of bread, apples, etc. and just dip them in!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: ChereenH
5 stars for "it doesn't get much easier than this" and "hearty delicious'ness". The diced carrots in this recipe give the soup a very pretty color. I would not omit them. Garnish with a bit of freshly chopped chives and toasty croutons. A definite keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: SM
Oh, this was soooooo good! It DID taste just like the melting pot, and after we'd finished dinner, I kept going back to the small amount of leftovers I'd saved so I could have another small bowl of this soup. I wish we had more because I could eat it all night. It's just so savory, especially with granny smith apple cubes. I used 1/2 cup of flour, 3/4 cup of buttermilk, 12 oz. bottle of Miller Lite, and 1/2 cup of parmesan and mozzarella cheese shredded mix. I omitted the celery and carrots, and just left the onions chopped. Wow, I'm really wanting some more right now. How did it go so quickly?! Everyone at the dinner table said it was awesome, and they all said it was their favorite thing that they had tonight. This soup is now one of my little secrets.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: rebeccalovestocook
Very good recipe!!! We loved it! I added some cracked black pepper, as well as 1 tbsp worcertshire sauce. I also added some broccoli. The soup was very thick, I added a little more chicken broth and beer to thin it a little. I might add some milk to it for reheating to keepp it from getting too thick and clumpy. Will definately use again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: AC0029A
Awesome recipe. Doesn't reheat well-a must eat on the first day (reheating makes soup get clumpy). Used a dark beer and had an excellent taste. Served in large buns that were carved out. Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: judiann
I followed the recipe exactly except for adding celery, and my family and I didn't like it at all. It had an odd, bitter taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: JsusFrk
My FAVORITE by far! VERY EASY & YUMMY! I love Cheese and this is it with beer added(I dont even care 4 beer!).I serve with soft pretzels-dunking them in the soup is so delicious! My daughter likes it and even my husband! I double the amount and still it is ALWAYS Gone! I have made several times and will continue to make! Thankx!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: JENNY-REDS
First time making cheese soup and I think it turned out excellent. I added a dash of wocestershire and nutmeg at the end. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches