My reviews (43)

Three Cheese and Beer Soup

A wonderfully cheesy soup. Sauteed celery, carrots and onion are simmered with chicken stock, Cheddar, Gouda, Parmesan and beer. A simple, yet robustly flavoured soup.
Reviews (43)


26 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: TIJUNEBUG
Amazing. Great taste. Easy to make. The hit of my last dinner party. Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 May 2010
Reviewed by: LoveNCyprus
It did turn out as the recipe says, but I personally did not like the beer and cheese combo, nor did my husband. However, this makes a great cheesy vegetable soup without the beer! =)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: DON GUILLERMO
I didn't like this recipe at all. I'm sorry...I wish I did, but my wife and I both thought it was quite unpalatable. I'm not a picky eater either...could have been the beer? I used an English Ale...a waste of good beer. I'm giving it 2 stars only because it smelled good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: natalieila
I wanted to make this as much like the jack astors recipe as possible so I added a clove of garlic, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, a pinch of ground thyme and some extra water to make it less thick
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: theidahopotato
Delicious! The best, most authentic beer cheese soup I've ever made. I omitted the celery and replaced the dry mustard with a couple squirts of yellow mustard. I will be making this again. Also, it's great leftover IF you stir it while heating it through on the stove. This takes care of the clumping problem that people have referred to.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: KONWAL
I thought that this was wonderful, but my husband did not like it at all. Don't think that it was the recipe. I think that he just doesn't care for beer cheese soup. Probably won't make it again, however.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: lvchickie
Delicious! Rich and creamy = exactly what I was looking for to fulfill my craving. Plus it couldn't have been any easier to make. My changes: I went with suggestions from others and ended up using 2 cans of broth, I only had mild cheddar so I used that instead of the varieties, didn't blend it, and used about half a bottle of hefe-weizen (if I used more it would've been TOO beer-y, but then I'm not much of a beer fan). Served it with Il Fornaio frozen rolls. Perfect soup for a cozy fall day, look forward to making it again. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: ashreims
My husband was very leery when I told him I was making Beer Cheese Soup and I really worried about the kids, but everyone loved it. I bought a hard bread and we dipped it more like fondue which someone else mentioned and I also added the nutmeg, but very good soup! I'll be making it again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 May 2007
Reviewed by: jkincolorado
YUM!!! I diced the carrots/onion/celery very small and didn't puree the soup -- we liked the texture of the vegetables. The soup was very thick -- I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and ended up using another half a can to thin out the soup. Served this with Guinness Bread (from this site) and beer margaritas -- yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: JENNIFER313
Wow, this soup is so yummy! My husband and I moaned and groaned our whole way through the meal. It was thick and tasty and absolutely delicious. I served it with crusty french bread, broccoli with garlic, and smoked salmon on the side. This is now one of my favorite soups! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches