My reviews (43)

Three Cheese and Beer Soup

A wonderfully cheesy soup. Sauteed celery, carrots and onion are simmered with chicken stock, Cheddar, Gouda, Parmesan and beer. A simple, yet robustly flavoured soup.
Reviews (43)


26 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Mrs.RachelM
I followed the recipe for everything except the cheese and I subbed the listed cheeses for a cheddar and jack four cheese prepackaged mix that I had on hand. I am minimally skilled in the kitchen (putting it nicely) and it turned out great! I did add some fresh green onions when serving and we had french bread to dip!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Orstschoolmom
Made this with some additional garlic and used homemade vegetable stock instead of canned chicken. Turned out AWESOME. Love this soup. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: SamanthaJae
This recipe would be good for fondue cheese, but with a little tweeking, adding more beer, chicken broth, adn butter milk, gets it to a soupy consistancy. I also added Real Bacon pieces into it with the onions, carrots, and broccoli. delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: mishy
This is a super easy and super yummy recipe. The best part is the ingredients are things you always have on hand. I followed the other reviews and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, left out the veggies, and added 1/2 c milk. I liked it a little thicker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: BRIANPIERQUET
I agree with an earlier post that this was too thick to be a soup. I added an additional can of chicken stock. Also, there was a bizarre flavor in this soup that just didn't taste right. I would recommend that you use a regular, light beer. I used an ale. I wouldn't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: ma baker
Followed the recipe as it is, unfortunately it wasn't our favorite. We have a local restaurant w/ a really good beer cheese soup that we were hoping to make at home. I'll keep looking...we live in WI where there are a lot of beer cheese soups that are super. Thanks for giving us a starting point though and as you can see many love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Elisa
It was good, but needed a little spice. I added salt & pepper. Next time I'll try a little worstershire as mentioned in another review. It is worth noting, this soup is thick. I added more chicken broth, but it was still thick. Next time I'll use it as a fondue.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Melinda
I'm sorry I gave this such a low rateing. I think I did something wrong. I did not alter the recipie and while it wasn't awful, it was far from what I was looking for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: MARK SCHOLLE
I substituted 10 oz of shredded Tillamook Smoked Sharp Cheddar Cheese for the Cheddar and Monterrey Jack. It was just the right amount of zing. I think using an American type of beer, such as Miller Genuine Draft, will work better than fancy imports. I think this recipe serves 4, not 8.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Karen Price Bailey
This was too thick as written....just add more broth! My boys did not like it because of the strong taste. Not sure if it was the cheese or beer! BUT, that was the recipe...right? I liked it a lot. Just add more broth because it is rather thick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches