My reviews (25)

Beetroot and Apple

A simple, yet delicious beetroot dish. Sliced beetroots are simmered with lemon juice, salt, brown sugar, apple and cornflour. Serve as a wonderful side dish with whatever you fancy.
Reviews (25)


08 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: WILLOWSCHNELL
They tasted really good, and I hate beets. My husband almost threw up though, but he detests beets... I made him try it to set a good example for our 3 year old. Our 1 year old LOVES them!!! The longer you simmer them, the better they taste. I made them an hour ahead of time, and just warmed them up, and they were better than when I first cooked them. Nice recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: ELFINDANCER
If you MUST eat beets, this is the way to go. It seems I went temporarily insane while at the grocery and picked up a can of beets. But, after desperately searching for a recipe that would make beets NOT taste like beets, I found it! I went a little heavy on the apple. hehe
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: HYGEIA
I loved this recipe. The color of the dish is so beautiful to compliment a holiday meal. The sauce thickens up nicely and the flavors are wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: LNHume
I enjoy beets but have never cooked them myself. I made this recipe and it turned out delicious. I threw in a handful of chopped walnuts and pecans at the end just to add some crunch and it tastes pretty great. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Jeff_Belmont
This was a fun recipe to start with, I challenged myself to run w/ fresh beets but kept the concept beyond that all Michele's - very innovative and fresh - I'd have never experimented w/ Beets and Apples had it not been for this post - Thanks Michele - you created a challenge for me w/o knowing it!!! ~Jeff
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: dailycook
Good...for beets.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Vi
substituted fresh peach for apple & slow-cooked with all the juice from the can for 30 mins. excellent. could double the fruit content too to further disguise the beets but was yummy 1 can to 1 fresh fruit
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 May 2009
Reviewed by: Prietto0
I make this quite often - an easy, delicious and colorful side dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: VMOONBUNNY
This was a tasty and innovative way to cook beets. I'm not generally a beet person, but I'm glad I tried this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: TARMAQ
This is great! The beets I used were only in water and salt, so I added some extra cornstarch and sugar. I also added a couple of dashes of red wine garlic vinegar. It was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches