My reviews (16)

Red Fish Stew (Bourtheto)

A delicious fish stew, made by topping sauteed onion and tomatoes with potatoes and cod, then simmering until done. Serve with chopped fresh parsley and crusty bread.
Reviews (16)


03 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: EMLIZMUE
I love this recipe! I found it on allrecipes last winter and then lost it. Because of the funky name, it was just about impossible to find again, and I was so excited to come across it recently. This is a great winter dinner - I use just one big skillet which makes cleanup so simple. The simmering always takes longer than I remember, but it fills the house with a great smell and everyone is so eager to eat when ready. A few variations: I don't grate the tomatoes, just chop since they cook down so much anyway. I definitely do remove the lid and let simmer down, and I love the potatoes after mashed. Remember that the larger chunks your potatoes are in, the longer the cooking process will be. I've also added black and red beans to the tomato/onion mixture. I've used both fresh and frozen fish fillets (pollock, cod, want to try catfish) and they work equally well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: kllevy72
I loved this! I used a white fish called turbot, recommended at the seafood counter, and substituted 1/2 white cooking wine for 1/2 of the water. Next time I will make the potato wedges thinner because they definitely didn't cook enough in 20 minutes and I worried about overcooking the fish while waiting for the potatoes to be ready. I am hoping to get some questions answered. First, in the description of the recipe, there is mention of lots of parsley, but parsley is not in the list of ingredients, nor is there any mention of adding it in the instructions. Second, and less importantly, the recipe says to cook the onion and tomato in half of the olive oil, but I don't see where the rest of the olive oil is used. Any answers or thoughts are appreciated!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: bbcmelbourne
I agree with some of the other comments...thinner wedges so it cooks a bit quicker and also to take the lid off to reduce some of the juice. I used New Zealand lemon sole and added more garlic, it turned out really tasty and I have submitted a photo of the dish as there was none posted when I cooked it. There is a querie from someone else who posted a review regarding what to do with the parsely....I just ripped it up and put it on top of dish when serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Matthew Perrett
Very good! I found that four medium potatoes were more than enough, and the top-most potatoes didn't get cooked all the way through even with an extra 20 minutes of cooking. Next time I might cook the potatoes for a bit before putting in the fish, as the cod fillets made it harder to stir the stew. Still, a great recipe overall!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: euphqueen1
I would like to rate this recipe higher, but it is so poorly written that I just can't. Heat half the oil and cook the onion and tomato? Okay. Heat/cook where? Stove or range? What heat setting? What was I supposed to do with the other half of the oil? Was I supposed to mash the potatoes for the recipe, or just with my spoon for greater eating pleasure? I followed the ingredients exactly except that I used a pound of red potatoes cut in chunks to reduce the cook time instead of 8 large potatoes, which wouldn't have fit the pot anyway. I simmered for 30 minutes. At the end, I mashed half the potato chunks with the dish uncovered and still cooking to thicken it slightly. I never figured out when to add the rest of the oil, so I never did! It came out VERY spicy, possibly because it's missing some oil. How this is only 4 servings is beyond me. It makes a ton! Tasty, simple, and comforting. I'd make it again and add a green vegetable to the pot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: FLUTTERJO
Brilliant recipe,soooooo tasty!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Meena
I cut the ingredients in half and used Tilapia instead of Cod. I also added a bit of garlic. I served it over Orzo pasta with a salad on the side. It came out quite wonderful and everyone enjoyed it! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Purgirl
I honestly thought the recipe was just okay. Nothing amazing, however the fish was very good. I would suggest putting the potatoes in the microwave first so they cook completely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Zita
Good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: evillhog
This was easy, great and very filling. I used pollock instead of cod and added a little garlic. I served it with croissants and grated romano cheese. Whole family loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches