My reviews (60)

Microwaved Acorn Squash

A deliciously simple and hassle-free dish. Acorn squash is cooked in the microwave with butter and dark brown soft sugar. It's sweet enough to serve as a dessert or a side dish with anything you fancy.
Reviews (60)


21 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: Cyndi
Very, very easy and husband-friendly. I added a tiny pinch of sweet pumpkin pie spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, mace, allspice, ginger, and cloves to the brown sugar, and then served it pooled in the shells, letting the diners mash it themselves to their heart's content. Some preferred to scoop out plain chunks and dip into the carmel sauce in the middle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Jessama
SOOO Much faster than baking and just as tasty! My boyfriend would make this for me in the oven once in awhile but stopped because it took so long. I am adding it back into our meals thanks to this receipe. I made it today and it turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
This summer my husband introduced me to acorn squash. He said his mom made it alot growing up. I sliced this into 1" sections and covered with 1" of water and cooked for 10 in the microwave. Brushed with butter and sprinkled with brown sugar
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: RUBYWIFE
This is delicious and so quick and simple to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: abapplez
I served this as dessert after a light lunch to company. Everyone loved it! It is perfect as written but I added a few Craisins and chopped walnuts before serving just for color and texture. Excellent. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Meagan621
This recipe was really good as long as you were able to dip the squash in the syrup. Once we ran out of syrup the rest just seemed too bland. Rather than doing this in the microwave, I baked it in the oven at 350 and it ended up taking just short of an hour. I also sprinkled the squash with pumpkin pie spice for extra flavor. Next time I will make it extra healthy by adding extra butter! :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: JANICER8
What at easy recipe! I didn't take the squash out of the shells, pulled the flesh from the skin and mixed it with the melted butter and brown sugar in the hollow and just ate it from the shell. Next time I think I will do as you suggested, and remove the flesh with the butter and brown sugar, mix it up and serve it that way, I think it would be better, even thought we really enjoyed it the way I did it. I may try using a little less brown sugar and butter next time, I think I'd like more of the squash flavor, although my husband may not agree with that! We at this with roast turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: SAMAGGIE
This is definitely an easy recipe to make, but I didn't think it was spectacular. I prepared as directed, but I think I should have taken the advice of another reviewer and added additional spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Liza Frydenlund
The best squash recipe I've found (I don't like squash, but my husband does.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: abfab
Great easy recipe. I only used half the sugar and butter and found it added enought sweetness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches