My reviews (42)

Perfect caramel sauce

Sugar, golden syrup, salt, vanilla extract, double cream and butter, are simmered together to create this delicious caramel sauce. Use as a dip or a pouring sauce over ice cream or cakes.
Reviews (42)


17 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: SaraAnnota
This was the most yummy toffi sauce thanks for making me and my family happy
 
03 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: M. O'Brien
The directions leave something to be desired, but with a little tuning, the results are excellent. After stirring in the butter and cream, put the mixture back on the heat until the mixture reaches 234 degrees again. Bubbling will be vigorous at first and gradually die down. Watch carefully when the temperature goes past 220 again, as most of the water is cooked out at this point and the temperature rises quickly. Cool the mixture slightly, and then dip your target ingredients. Dipping apples at around 200 degrees worked well. Pour leftover caramel onto parchment paper and cool in the refrigerator. Allow to return to room temperature and cut into pieces for delicious caramel candy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JENN818
Delicious! Thanks M. O'Brien for expanding the directions. This makes a wonderful old-fashioned caramel perfect for making caramel apples. MUCH better than using premade caramels. This one's a keeper! I was able to cover 10 small-med apples with this amount of caramel, with a couple of Tbsp left over (and it won't go to waste!). NOTE: Use a LARGE pot for this recipe. It more than triples in volume after the butter and cream were added. I ended up having to transfer to another vessel because it was boiling over!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Tami McNett
I made 250 caramel apples for a school carnival using this recipe and they were a huge hit! Needless to say, I worked out all of the problems before attempting so many. Those who complain that it's just a sauce didn't cook it long enough. The first cooking faze is fast (approx 10 min) but after you add the cream & butter, it took a consistent 20-25 min to reach 230-232 degrees. I found 234 to 240 made the caramel too hard for an apple, but 230 to 232 was perfect. Use parchment paper, not waxed. I picked my apples so didn't have the wax problem. (Honeycrisp!) I washed them, dried them, and kept them very cold right until they were dipped. This helps the caramel cool faster. I also had 2 other people there so I could quickly dip (I didn't wait for the extra to run off) and hand them off to empty hands who held them, turning them this way and that so the caramel didn't drip off. After about one minute the caramel was set enough they could place them on the paper and none of the apples had the caramel sluff off. My husband made quite a few by himself so when the caramel got to the point it wouldn't stick, he just put it back on the stove on low until it melted to the desired consistency again. Make sure your thermometer is accurate and check your pan. Mine had a steel bottom so even after I removed it from the heat at 230, it cooked to 236 which was too hard. Don't give up. This is awesome caramel!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Katrina S.
This turned out to be a great sauce, My Husband and I used it for Ice Cream too (just kept it in a glass jar in the fridge and heated it up a bit before drizzling over dessert) We weren't sure at first, but from now on it will replace store bought caramel sauces in our house. And thank you M. O'Brien for expanding on the directions. Mine surely would have failed with out the extra information.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Deb
One major omission in this recipe is the amount of time you should cook it. Cook Time says 20 min. but that is not included anywhere in the directions of the recipe. After adding the butter and cream I cooked it at med. high heat for about 10 min. stirring constantly and slowly until it began to get a caramel color. THEN I took it off the stove, added the vanilla and dipped the apples.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Amanda
Thank you so much for posting a recipe that doesn't call for premade caramels. I had one heck of a time finding a plain old caramel recipe for my caramel apples. Thank you again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: momlovestocook
This is seriously good caramel, I couldn't find my candy thermometer but it still turned out perfect, boiled for 10 minutes or so after adding the butter and cream like others. I dipped apples and poured the leftover caramel on parchment and cut and wrapped in parchment to make caramel candies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: MMUELLER
I agree with M.O'Brien. I ended up cooking it for about 10-15 minutes at a steady boil.The Sauce is creamy and delicious, not too sweet. Light in color and excellent on brownies!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Oct 2009
AWESOME! I didn't have heavy cream, so I tried substituting a cup of whipping cream and a cup of 2% milk. I was surprised how good this turned out! I also boiled about 15 minutes after adding the butter & cream/milk to get the right viscosity. Tastes like Werther's Original! If yours isn't thickening, just keep simmering and it will.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches