My reviews (11)

Vegetable and Cheese Soup

This is a simple, yet delectable soup that is perfect for the winter. Potatoes, mushrooms, peas, carrots, sweetcorn and broccoli are simmered together in a cheese soup. Enjoy with garlic croutons, if desired.
Reviews (11)


24 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: SUZAMMA
Wonderful in every way!! Very cheesy, and the combination of vegetables is perfect. I'd recommend mixing the flour with some of the milk prior to adding to the rest of the milk,, and then add the cheese soup. No lumps that way. Made 3-3/4 quarts--7 big servings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: KMACAULEY
This is a yummy recipe. Instead of condensed cream of cheddar soup (which was expensive) I made my own roux using butter, flour, milk and cheddar cheese. I left out the additional flour called for in the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: heavysyrup
Excellent! My favorite recipe on here so far. The onions and mushrooms make a surprisingly flavorful base. I substituted one bag of mixed frozen vegetables for the fresh veggies, and halved the milk and cheese soup concentrate for an even heartier soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: NEESHTA
Super delicious soup! very hearty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: BECCAP
i have lots of mixed feelings about this recipe. As is, it's pretty bland. I would much prefer a roux-based soup, but went with this tonight based on ingredients and ease of prep, and my endless quest to try new things. Changes that might amp up the flavor would include dissovling some bouillon cubes in the simmering milk mixture? My kids actually devoured this, a near miracle, but i suspect it's because the cheese soup offered that "fake orange cheese" flavor they seem to love so much! however, with so many roux-based cheesy vegetable chowder soups on this site, i think they're a much better bet. in a pinch this could work, but the results are so-so at best. going homemade and taking the extra five minutes is going to be worth it in this case.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: EFasse
This was really easy and very good. Thanks for a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: BONF
Wonderful soup! I followed Suzamma's advice with the flour. (I mixed it with some of the milk.) It worked great. I also added some Basil. This recipe is a new favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Natalie
This was really bland. Made it exact and will NOT make again. Spent the whole time eating it going back over the recipe wondering what I did wrong. My boyfriend and I ate it anyway because it made so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Lois
This was a little bland. would add more spices next time. My college kids loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: BRATTYBLUEEYES
This soup was amazing!!! I love making something that is vegetarian, that the whole family liked! will be making this many more times!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches