My reviews (56)

Slow cooker chicken chilli with beans

A delicious change to the traditional chilli con carne. Chicken, garlic, red onion, black beans, cannellini beans, tomatoes, sweetcorn, peppers and seasonings are cooked together in a slow cooker. Enjoy with rice or a side of corn bread.
Reviews (56)


01 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Carol
An excellent twist on an old favorite. I shortened the cooking time by 2 hrs by using canned black & great northern beans and mixing everying in a stock pot on my stovetop. My gut also told me the 1/2 cups brown sugar was way too much, so I reduced the amount to 1/4 (not packed). It's still sweeter than most chilies but adding the vinegar and spices tones this down quite a lot. My husband loved this and I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: beebee
My family loves this recipe and I took 2nd place in a chili cookoff. I altered the recipe a little adding only 1 1/2 tablespoons each of chili powder, cumin and cilantro.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: cooky45
this turned out pretty good, I too cut the sugar down to 2 Tablespoons instead of 1/2 cup and I wanted a faster version so I used canned beans,I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: SLJ6
These are the changes I made to make this a five star ....Used a pound of extra lean ground chicken, one 14oz can of fire roasted, one 28oz can crushed tomatoes, 2tblspns brown sugar, 1tblspn red wine vinegar, added 1tblspn dried oregano, instead of yellow pepper used a diced zucchini. Otherwise kept all other ingredients the same. I made this on the stove top and it was excellent. Served with shredded cheddar and some diced avacado. Really a very good chili. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Rock_lobster
Chicken Two Bean Chili Haiku: "Crestfallen chili. Tomato sauce overload. Needed several tweaks." I had such high hopes for this chili, especially since upon walking in the door from work, I salivated at its chirping-in-the-crockpot-all-day aroma. Unfortunately, I couldn't get over the overwhelming tomato sauce taste. I followed the recipe exactly as written, w/ the exception of using fresh cilantro (1/4 c. finely-chopped) instead of dried, and reducing the brown sugar to 1/4 c. (Although should I make this again, I would probably drop it to 2 TB instead.) For all of the wonderful flavors that went into it, I just tasted what I could only describe as tomato soup w/ chicken and beans. It's a good recipe that just needs a few changes, such as less tomato sauce, or none at all (possibly a small can tomato paste and more chicken stock?) and definitely less brown sugar, to evolve into a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: CC
I tried this recipe the other night for the first time replacing the canned ingredients for fresh one and ground chicken instead of chunks. I can't believe how simple and amazing this recipe is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: bellepepper
I followed this recipe pretty closely. I changed the process by sautéing my chicken and then making the rest of the recipe on the stovetop rather than using my crock pot. I used two cans of Rotel tomatoes, which are a little smaller, and only 3 T. of brown sugar. I can’t imagine using 1/2 cup! This turned out very well and we both liked it a lot. It’s very filling and a nice blend of flavors. I served mine with a dollop of sour cream and a sprig of fresh thyme.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: JoeRik
I wouldn't consider this recipe chili, it is basically tortilla soup. It was too liquidy to be chili. It tasted okay, but it ate like soup and if I was in the mood for soup I have other recipes that I like more than this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: quiltingqueen
this is the best chili I have ever tasted.I won 2nd place in a chili cook off
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: BRADGRAD1
This soup was wonderful! As suggested, I cut back on the brown sugar and used 1/4 or a little less. Great leftover, too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches