My reviews (1,325)

Mexican Chicken Tortilla Soup

This hearty soup is quick and easy to make. It's also packed full of flavour. Chicken is simmered with sweetcorn and black beans in a spicy tomato soup base. Serve with avocado, grated cheddar and crushed tortilla chips.
Reviews (1325)


03 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: ERINPOO
Yummy! I was full after one bowl of this soup, but it was so good I had to have a second bowl. Easy to make (even for a college student like me) and very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: Cheryl R
This delicious soup is very similar to Fresh Choice's Chicken Tortilla soup. I cooked mine using my slow cooker. I put diced raw chicken at the bottom and added the remaining ingredients, omitting the olive oil. I cooked it for approx. 4 hours on high. I also increased the amount of hominy to 3 cups. The hominy makes this recipe special, in my opinion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: STMONDAY
Adding the tortillas in the beginning makes it thicker than I'm used to, but overall it has a nice flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: WILLITS
This is a great recipe that is quick and easy. Great for a fall day with famliy and friends.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: WHILGERS
My husband said this was the best soup I have ever made. It WAS good. I doubled the recipe, used a whole chicken, added cumin and a package of taco seasoning. AWESOME! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: SKELASH
This is a fantastic soup! Perfect for a cold winter day and suitable for a main course. My only recommendation is to add 1 1/2 tsp of cumin to give it that extra bit of Mexican flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: JILL900
My whole family loves this recipe. Recommend not adding more than the required corn ingredients..it will make it too dry! Great for company!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: Tracy Curtis
My husband loved this dish. I was tired of making the same watery chicken soup for him so this was a nice change. I didn't use the hominy or black beans because I didn't have them available so it gives me another reason to try the recipe again. My husband will like that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: KATIE_19_M
I loved this soup! It was very flavorful, easy, quick, and very delicious. This was even better than the tortilla soup in my favorite resturant. Very, Very Good!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: EVIENJAKE
This is a great soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches