My reviews (1,325)

Mexican Chicken Tortilla Soup

This hearty soup is quick and easy to make. It's also packed full of flavour. Chicken is simmered with sweetcorn and black beans in a spicy tomato soup base. Serve with avocado, grated cheddar and crushed tortilla chips.
Reviews (1325)


12 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: DD564
This is the best recipe I have found on Allrecipes.com so far. Simply tremendous. It's so good, I don't bring it to family functions because I want it to be all mine! When people say this is restuarant quality, they actually mean it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: SHOPDOG
Added a teaspoon of cumino and omitted hominy. Used fresh chicken broth and added salt for balance. Tasted better the next day. Overall - a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Instead of part water, I used part chicken broth and part tomato sauce. I wanted more flavor in my soup, I didn't want it watered down. After it'd cooked for a while I tasted it, then I added in more of the spices (I used ground california chili powder instead of regular chili powder so it would be the same flavor but less heat behind it), including the cilantro and I added a teaspoon or so of cumin. It really did more spices. This was okay. A good throw together soup but I think I really was expecting more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Rock_lobster
I don't like to review recipes based on the substitutions/additions that I made, but it was difficult to even consider giving this less than 5 stars! For all the chicken tortilla soup recipes out there, I came to this one b/c I had most of the items on hand. I had every intention of making a ton so that I'd have leftovers to freeze, but alas, it was all gobbled up!! I'll go ahead and mention what I changed, but in all honesty, I imagine this recipe as written is just as wonderful as all of the suggestions that all of the other reviewers made. I omitted hominy and used only a can of Mexi-corn. I sauteed 1 chopped bell pepper w/ the garlic and onion, and used a 28 oz. can diced, not crushed tomatos. Passed on the oregano and instead added a packet of taco seasoning. I also shredded the chicken, rather than dicing. I had my soup in the crock-pot on low for 8 hours, and added a healthy handful of cilantro in the last half-hour, along with a generous splash of sherry. (Sherry + black beans = THE YUM!) Anyways, THANK YOU for a wonderful recipe, regardless of my wee changes!! *Munch munch slurp slurp. I <3 Soup*
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Mirby
So good! But I recommend these tweaks: use 1 heaping Tbsp chili powder, 1 tsp oregano, and 1-2 tsp cumin. LIME juice is a bright, refreshing addition. Fresh cilantro is a must. The toppings really make the dish. Also, I added several dashes of hot sauce and a Tbsp of pickled jalapeno for kick (the green chiles are not spicy). Idea: save your canned chicken broth. Boil the chicken breasts in enough water to cover plus a couple inches until no longer pink in the middle. Then just use that liquid for your stock! No sodium, no extra cost.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: JenInCalifornia
Excellent! You must use fresh corn and top with the avacado. We've had this many times since I found this recipe. Love the hominy too. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: STORMYWSMN
I have my own version of this recipe that's similar and excellent. If you don't have all of the spices, a packet of enchilada sauce seasoning is cheap, quick and easy and adds the perfect flavor to the soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Helene Rose-Carson
I have to give it 5 stars, because even though I made some changes, they were very minor and just my preference. I am confident the original recipe would have been just as wonderful . I omitted the hommony completely, added 2 cups of chicken broth, added 1 package of taco seasoning mix, used 1 can of rotell tomates and 1 can of chopped tomatoes and omitted the green chili peppers. I topped with cheese and crushed tortilla chips when served and it was out of this world. A keeper for sure...Thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: eaglesfan
MmMmMmMmMmMm! Excellent! my boyfriend LOVED it! It's definately a keeper! i did change a few things though..........(i always do!) used 1 14 oz can of chopped tomatoes w jalapenoes and 1 14 oz can of chopped tomatoes with chili seasoning both with juice. I aso used chicken broth insted of water. and i added a couple packages of the goya seasoning. 2 corriander and annatto and 2 tomatoe and cilantro.( i put these in ALL my mexican dishes!tacos, chili,etc....) also used spicy chili powder and added another tblsp of it and the cumin! Thanks so much for this SUPER delicious and SUPER easy recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: kfj1959
Loved this soup! I read the reviews and made some changes as well. No oregano, no hominy--a little more corn, added 1 tsp cumin, no water--chicken broth instead. The biggest change was with the canned crushed tomatoes. I thought I had some in the pantry--but NO! I didn't....quickly did an inventory of potential substitutes. I added two cans of Rotel tomatoes (which are tomatoes and chopped green chilis), omitted the can of green chilis, ended up adding a 16 oz can of tomato sauce to give a little more tomato flavor and body. This was delicious!! I garnished it with grated cheese (mexican blend), crushed cornchips, sour cream, chopped green onions and fresh cilantro. This recipe is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches