My reviews (9)

Cinnamon infused pickled beetroot

Cinnamon adds a new dimension to this pickled beetroot recipe. Beetroot is simmered with malt vinegar, sugar and cinnamon. Serve as a side dish, with salads or in sandwiches.
Reviews (9)


21 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Cooking 101
I'll admit, were not beet lovers here, but my friend had extra beets from their garden and was over for dinner tonight so we used this recipe. They just loved it, though I didn't try it cause I hate beets they just loved it so I printed out the recipe for them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Rude Nun
Very good! Sweet beets and the sugar/vinegar/cinnamon really helped to diminish the earthy beet taste. Also, the vinegar isn't that strong once this is ready to eat. I used fresh beets from my garden, just boiled 'em for an hour or so until they were tender.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Diana Fijalkowski
after unsuccessfully scouring my kitchen for my grandmother's recipe for pickled beets, I decided to come to allrecipes... and again, wasn't disappointed. This is as close to grandma's as I've seen. The only change was that she always tossed in a few cloves... probably 1/2t or so. I just heard my kids in the basement, "do you smell that? She's cooking beets again." so I must be doing SOMETHING right. Who cares if I'm the only one in the house who loves these? Thanks a bunch, TasteKing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Lisa
Very Nice. Cinnamon adds a very nice change. Thank you for an easy recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: dragonflyGrrl
I am right this moment enjoying my pickled beets. I did feel like the beets themselves got lost in the cinnamon-ness, though, so when I make this again (which I will definitely do) I'll probably cut that down. I used fresh beets, which I boiled in their skins until soft, then peeled and sliced, using the cooking liquid as my base. I also added onions to the brine. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: loveablemoma
this was good i do it a lot because my family think i slave when i can but i add sliced onons to my broth when its heating and it really makes them taste like grandmas
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Donna Shelton
These were really great! We liked the spices and accidentally used some rutabegas (I think I spelled that wrong) because we thought they were beets too but it was all good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: De
OK, this is the first time I have ever made pickled beets. My mother used to make her own all the time and my husband always loved them. As I am not a beet fan, I decided to try making them. These taste just like my mother’s, and my husband was ecstatic about this recipe thank you for this once again memory making recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: ROSELYN38
I made these last night to serve. Followed the recipe exactly and they are delicious. I will definitely be making these again but I think I will add a little onion next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches