My reviews (34)

Lentil and Rice Soup in a Jar

The perfect food gift for anyone who likes to cook. Pearl barley, split peas, rice, lentils, pasta and seasonings are layered in a jar and tagged with instructions of how to make a perfect lentil soup.
Reviews (34)


30 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: MARLA CLANCY
I make "Gift in a Jar"s for people. This was, by far, one of the prettiest that I've ever made. Got raves from family, friends and coworkers on presentation. However, I always make recipes before I give them away. But this one I didn't. You see, I don't like soup at all. But I know a lot of people do, especially in the winter. I've never gotten a "bad" recipe from this website, so I figured "4 stars...GREAT!" Well, that must've been on presentation only, because numerous people have come up to me to tell me that the soup wasn't good and that the recipe wasn't correct. (I felt awful!) Apparently the liquid isn't adaquate at all. And when you do add enough liquid to make it "soupy" then it makes 2 VERY LARGE POTS of soup! Not bad if you are having company, but it should say that on the label. I won't make this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 May 2002
Reviewed by: COOKIN_COWGIRL
There is this lady at the nursing home. She always talks about growing up at her ranch and such. I came home and found this recipe. I msde a jar for her and tied a bow around the top. She tried it and it brought a tear to her eye. She said how she couldnt beleive just how much it tasted like her mothers soup! Now i make it all the time! I love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: MYREL SMITH
The soup is very good and makes a great gift. For single persons or small eaters, cut the recipe in half and put into a pint jar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: MINIVANMOMOF3
This soup looks very nice in the jar and I was skeptical as to how it would taste. It was really VERY good! The pasta was a little mushy though. I plan to make it for gifts this Christmas, but I may leave out the pasta all together. It made 8 good-sized servings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: THE ACRED FAMILY
Great Gift Idea. Our family made these jars of soup for Christmas and I am still getting calls asking for the recipe. We changed the order of the ingredients to change the appearence and used Texas shaped pasta (we live in Texas) instead of alphabet shapes. We hot glued a dark green ribbon to the lid, vacuum sealed the jars and they are just so beautiful, people have them sitting around their homes as decorations. It tastes great too - kids & adults all loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Sioranth
Something I really liked about this recipe as compared to the Friendship Soup recipe is that it doesn't require so much prep work that the maker is wondering they they making it from a jar in the first place. I think the essence of "in a jar" recipes is supposed to be homemade convenience foods, something that can be put together with little effort. I do think that size varies too much in the ingredients and would probably opt for some other pasta shapes that are more uniform to the overall appearance.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: ZCOSTILLAS
We're trying recipes out to give as gifts this year. Although the recipe tastes good, this was not our favorite. I think the recipe called for too much rice and the size of the ingredients varied too much from tiny to large (the twist pasta). The Friendship soup in a jar is much more to our liking and is the one we're going with!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 May 2001
Reviewed by: Tracy
I made several batches of this soup mix this weekend. They turned out wonderfully. It is a very nice layered effect. Don't add tomatoes to the beans until they are tender. The acid in the tomatoes keeps the beans from getting any softer when they are added. I haven't made the soup yet, but I will let you know how it turns out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: Anastasia
I bought a case of canning jars and put together 12 batches of this soup to send as Christmas gifts. Everyone loved it! My sister has even requested that I send some to her son at college because he loved the soup so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: momofthreekids
This is really good soup. I made it for a few people for Christmas gifts and one friend said it was very delicious and she hadn't added any of the extras just made what was in the jar. I made some tonight and I did not use cabbage I added 4 carrots and 2 stalks of celery, I used chicken bouillon granules and brown rice and a can of diced tomatoes. The only thing I found was I had it on medium low for over an hour and when I tasted it the veggies and everything were still hard so I brouht the soup to a boil on medium high and let it boil for about 10-15 minutes. Everything was perfect but then the noodles were too soft and soggy. It also was a little on the salty side for me so next time I might just use 1 teaspoon of salt instead of 2 and add the noodles towards the end of cooking instead of at the beginning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches