My reviews (14)

Sesame Coated Cheese Ball

The perfect appetiser for dinner parties or other social gatherings. Mature cheddar is blended with soured cream and a variety of seasonings, chilled, formed into a ball and then rolled in toasted black sesame seeds. Serve with crackers, crostini or crusty bread.
Reviews (14)


02 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Murray
Great recipe for a cheese ball. Be creative I sculpted mine into a rat and used the left over port to create a simple raspberry port sauce.. I uploaded the pic! It was a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: JasBradley
Wow, this is an excellent recipe for any time of year! I used poppy seeds and served with water crackers and black grapes for our Halloween party.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: AWorkInProgress
This is a yummy appitizer in an awesome presentation. A few additions I made were (1) dropping a few drops of green food coloring into the food processed. (2) Throwing a few plastic bugs/snakes that I found in the toy box into the dishwasher and them positioning them around/ on the cheese ball. I even won 1st place at a Halloween party last year! Thanks for your awesome recipe and great idea!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Shelley
Great taste!! I took toasted sesame seeds and soaked them in a bottle of black food coloring and some port wine. They came out almost greenish black, it was absolutely amazing. I also made the recipe into 2 balls and put plain toasted sesame seeds on one so it looked very interesting on the platter with a white one and a black one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: LVTOCOOKFORFAMILY1
It was runny and could not be shaped into a ball at all. I guess I should have used cream cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Mommyof1
This was a big hit at a party. I couldn't get the black sesame seeds to cover the whole ball. But be warned, it makes alot! Next time I will make 3 or 4 smaller balls. Very strong taste, delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Chris Simpler
Five stars for inspiration, even though I'm likely to change a few things if I make it again. First, I would definitely use the sharp cheddar (I used mild), and less horseradish. I left out the hot sauce, and would not include it, although I *would* put something in to enhance the flavor, especially if cutting back on the horseradish--maybe white pepper? As far as everything sticking together, mine worked just fine. Maybe the type of cheese or temperature has something to do with it; I think turning it into a dip is a good option if needed. Finally, I suggest putting half the sesame seeds in a bowl that's slightly larger than the ball of cheese and rolling it around in the bowl while sprinkling the rest over top. I used a plate kind-of in this fashion and they coated pretty well. If anyone has ideas for getting a more prominent 'port' flavor, that'd be great, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Kelly
This was great! I omitted the hot mustard and the chipotle hot sauce and added additional horseradish and an extra garlic clove, but other than that, I stuck to the recipe. I used a Tawny Port, since the recipe didn't specify, but I think a Ruby would work just as well. It was a snap to put together in the processor. Rolling the ball in the sesame seeds was kind of messy, but a 1/2 cup was plenty to cover. Took it to work for our Halloween potluck, serving it with those 1/2 pretzel/1/2 Ritz crackers, and it was a big success. Loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Talius-LH
Was unable to get mine to form into a ball, it was just a gooey mess. So instead I turned it into a dip, covering the bottom of the dish with the sesame seeds and the top. I also substituted habanero hot sauce for the chipotle, giving it a slightly hotter taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: amyh1965
I like the idea of the cheese ball being black, but that could be done with any good cheese ball recipe. The problem is that this cheeseball just didn't taste very good. It was very boring and bland. I had to add a lot more to it to give it even a little kick of flavor. It works well as a starting point and I had no trouble molding it as someone else noted. I would recommend this as a base but expect to need to play around with some other additions if you want any flavor interest at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches