My reviews (589)

Cabbage and potato saute

This is a simple, yet incredibly delicious Ethiopian dish. Onions, carrots, cabbage and potatoes are sauteed with cumin and turmeric. It's the perfect side dish to any meal.
Reviews (589)


03 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: innovations
Delicious tasty vegetable dish. My family have been converted to liking cabbage and ask me to make it all the time
 
17 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: csm2920
Great side dish. My partner says he doesn't like most vegetables, but ate and enjoyed this. Would be a great way to use up leftover veg from a Sunday roast!
 
21 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: GillTaber
Absolutely delicious. I admit to eating the scraps in the pan it was so good!
 
23 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: BrigitteCirilli
I made this and served it to a few friends. This was great and everyone loved it. I think that it may need just a bit more salt, but that's up to individual taste and an be added based on the individual. Thanks for sharing!
 
25 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: Joandjonny
We loved this dish. Used up some of our veg box with really tasty results. We used 3 tbs oil and just added a little water during cooking when it became dry. The potatoes should be on the floury side - not waxy new ones for best results. Saved to our best recipes :-)
 
10 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Kazz
Super easy to make. Used less oil, added cherry tomatoes.
 
20 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: cett
i followed the recipe exactly and i made this after reading the good reviews. while i am reluctant to give a bad review, this was bland, and very oily. i could not justify the amount of oil that was required for this dish. to serve 4, you are plating up vegetables swimming in 30ml of oil per serving! i do not consider this a healthy dish at all. 120ml of olive oil to cook these vegetables in resulted in a greasy, oily mess that was inedible for us.
 
15 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: ironpen
Very tasty, healthy and vegetarian - best thing, it was super easy to make!
 
08 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: ptodora
I slice my potatoes and omit the carrots, and it's one of my family's favorite meals. Topped with a couple of sausages, it's a complete meal-so easy.
 
14 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Deeli
I am a huge lover of Ethiopian dishes! What is missing from this recipe is 2 teaspoons minced garlic and 1/2 tsp minced ginger ;-) I liked that you added cumin for a taste twist but it's really not necessary. The turmeric definitely needs to be doubled, or more to taste. Oh, and definitely reduce the oil to 1/4 cup. Oh, one more thing ... It's much easier and you'll have more control if you cook this in a large pot rather than a skillet ;-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches