My reviews (589)

Cabbage and potato saute

This is a simple, yet incredibly delicious Ethiopian dish. Onions, carrots, cabbage and potatoes are sauteed with cumin and turmeric. It's the perfect side dish to any meal.
Reviews (589)


18 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Julecook
This has become a staple in our house. My mom loves it and says it tastes exactly like the one from our favorite Ethiopian place. I added Coriander, nutmeg, butter & a touch of cloves and it made it taste even more authentic to me. But the dish if fab as is written. I just always like extra spices. Thanks so much for sharing this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: yaktipper
Although I'm not very good cook, this is a pretty easy dish to make, cheap, and nutritious. I'm not usually a cabbage fan and even I thought it tastes great. Overall a winner in every way. I bought a chopped cabbage/carrot mix from Sam's Club which saved some prep time. I did increase the amount of spices as suggested by others here and thought it turned out well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 May 2009
Reviewed by: kareno
Used just a little olive oil in a large non-stick skillet. Didn't have potatoes, but it's delicious without.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 May 2009
Reviewed by: cpetro
Very good. Used balsamic vinegar in place of tumeric and used shredded carrots. Easy dish to make and very healthy. I also cut down on the olive oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: blaireg4
My family LOVES this! I read past reviews and doubled the spices. It is really yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: wholesomehome
I loved this recipe! I don't generally like the flavor of cumin so I reduced it by 1/2 but was still a little nervous about trying it. In the end I was so pleased with the dish. I served it as a main dish but then realized there is absolutely no protein in it, so made sure to drink milk with it. Can someone suggest a good protein side or main dish to complement this?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: gloria
Good, i doubled the spices, will probably add more next time. Next time I will also cut the cabbage smaller to cut down on cooking time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Haleyjoy
This was extremely good. I also doubled the spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Mamacherie
This is SUPER yum!!! We added finely chopped cooked chicken left over from last night (about a cup) and that gave it a rich chewy texture layer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Chari Campbell
Really really good! Per other's suggestions, I doubled the spices. Easy to throw together, I ate this for dinner last night and was completely satisfied. Thank you for posting this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches