My reviews (121)

Mexican creme caramel

This dessert is known as Mexican flan. It consists of a deliciously creamy, sweet and eggy custard, topped with a syrupy caramel sauce. Serve as a truly decadent dessert.
Reviews (121)


15 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: clickiss
 
19 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Kelsey K
To me the density and consistency of this flan was perfect. I've since modified it to use only 2/3c. sugar for the caramel since not all the caramel liquified in baking using the full cup. I also use whole evaporated milk and leave out the cornstarch. If I'm choosing not to use the orange juice, I sub in milk. This has become my husband's most requested dessert. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: azdon
Several folks have had trouble getting all the sugar to caramelize - an easy fix is to use Baker's Sugar... it's a superfine granulated sugar (not powdered sugar) that is made for just such an application. C&H makes it; I don't know if it's available all over the country, but look for it in the sugar section of the supermarket.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Melissa
I made this today and it turned out perfectly! Instead of one flan pan I used a decorative muffin pan that has six muffins and this made individual flans. (I had a bit leftover and out it in a small pie pan.) I omitted the orange juice and orange peel (don't care for orange flavor) and also omitted the whole milk and instead used 1 whole can of evaporated milk. Everything else I followed exactly as the recipe stated and the taste is amazing! It was a huge hit for my family, also. My husband said it is better than the flan in the local Mexican restaurant. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: SherBear
I swapped a few things, but will stick to my new recipe from now on: subbed whole milk for evaporated milk and reduced it to 3/4 C, then omitted all orange stuff, and added 1/2 C coconut milk. Also toasted my own coconut and put it on the syrup before putting flan in dish. Followed same blending instructions, and it is SOO creamy and delicious with a touch of coconut flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Rae
This was my first attempt at Flan, it was also my first time eating flan. Whenever I have seen it at a restaurant I was never tempted to try it. But the other day my son was asking about flan and if it was good or not so I figured the best way to find out was to make it. I had to make this 2x. The first time I tried to make these in mini spring-form pans. Really bad idea they leaked all into the water bath and just made a big yucky mess. So I tried it again the next day. I used 6 6oz ramekins and baked for 40 minutes. This was fun to make. And surprisingly easy. I expected it to be more complicated. The texture was silky and smooth. Lovely flavor with just a hint of orange to it. Really fantastic and now I know that Flan is fabulous. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: invierno_eterno
I had tried the Spanish Flan on this site, and while I thought that was lovely, it was NOTHING compared to the texture of this one! I omitted the orange stuff and left it traditional vanilla way. Instead of the whole milk, cornstarch, and heavy cream, I just used a can of evaporated milk. Obviously, it is the 3 eggs and two egg yolks that makes this one have a divine texture! I definitely recommend it, even the simple way with just a can of evaporated milk, one can of condensed milk, vanilla, and the eggs blended and cooked just as directed here! Excellent! This is my flan recipe from now on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 May 2010
Reviewed by: 777irish
This was a phenomenal recipe! It was easy to fix and it came out looking picture perfect. It is important to allow the time (4 hours) for it to sit, though. My husband wasn't sure he liked the orange flavor, but I loved it and all the people at the dinner we served it at raved about it...they are still raving!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Katy
Wow! Thanks Tigerlily402! This was delicious! The orange flavor was pretty distinct and we enjoyed it. But next time, we might just try it plain. I followed the recipe as best I could: I did not have a flan mold, so I used a deep-dish pie pan. And I didn't have a roasting pan, so I improvised with a deep skillet. Not ideal, but it worked! Mmm...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 May 2010
Reviewed by: Amanda Jeffs
This was delicious! Left out the orange zest.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches