My reviews (81)

Creamy gelato

The following recipe will show you how to make the basic gelato (Italian ice cream). To this, you can add the flavourings of your choice. Add vanilla beans, ground hazelnuts, unsweetened cocoa or coconut flakes - the choice is limited only by your imagination.
Reviews (81)


21 May 2017
Reviewed by: Buckwheat Queen
This was good. I expected a creamier texture but it was watery. I added a vanilla bean and nutmeg to keep in line with the original gelato alla crema.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 May 2017
Reviewed by: TMarg
Great recipe! Try the following flavouring.... 1) you can add a half cup of Nutella once the cream is hot before tempering the eggs (reduce sugar if you like). 2) You can add the zest of two lemons while the milk heats, then add 2/3 cups lemon juice after tempering the eggs and reheating the mix (in this case I'd use higher fat dairy to compensate for the wateriness of the lemon juice). 3) Add the zest of one orange to the fairy as it heats. Once heated, add 100g high quality dark chocolate and melt before continuing with tempering the eggs. Good luck!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: brettwadelton
Almost *too* tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
29 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: Castiron
I'm real focusing on texture. I've had a few good batches and will continue to work with this recipe. An Italian guy I work for says gelato should be made with no eggs, so I want to perfect it with no eggs, although eggs give it a nice texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Chef2B
No changes necessary, your Italian MIL was right on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: Jason
We made a cherry version of this by adding 18 large pitted diced cherries during the second heating and then adding another 12more large pitted diced cherries when it was placed in the ice cream maker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: KSills
This was outstanding. I used 3 eggs, brown sugar, and half and half instead of cream. I threw in two handfuls of bittersweet chocolate chips while warming the milk. Rich, creamy and outstanding!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Laura Stephen
I took the advice of another reviewer, reducing the sugar to 1/4c, and added about 2/3c of Nutella when it was mixing in the ice cream machine. It was a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: Nicole Mullins
Made it according to the recipe/directions. Added 1-2tsp peppermint extract and roughly chopped dark chocolate. Perfect mint chip gelato!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Martin
Very good base gelato recipe. I'm waiting for mine to go into the freezer, and it tastes divine. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches