My reviews (34)

Ginger pumpkin pie

A ginger nut biscuit base is topped with a lightly spiced, sweet pumpkin filling, before being baked to perfection. Serve chilled with whipped cream for dessert.
Reviews (34)


25 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: gracecat
Great taste and pretty quick to make - if you're not making your own puree from scratch. I personally prefer more of a base so would do 200g biscuits and a little more butter to compensate. I buy Tesco own brand and they're sugary enough without extra caster sugar. Made the error of having the oven a little too hot so did get some brown spots on top but still tasted great. Will probably swap out the brown sugar and evaporated milk next time; using sweetened condensed milk instead. Would also recommend using 2 egg whites but 1 or 1 and a half egg yolks rather than 2.
 
17 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Nikk1
Tasted good first time in making a pumpkin pie, looked ok also
 
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: RebeccaJane
I noticed that quite a few people complained that the pie was watery, that the crust was soggy, or that the crust burned. So, when I made this, I left the sugar out of the crust, as the cookies are sweet enough already, and the sugar is what caused the crust to burn for some people. Also, I used a package of cream cheese instead of the can of evaporated milk, so that it would not be soggy. Finally, I have found from experience, that if I ever use any number but 3 eggs when a pie requires them, that I will be sorry, so I made it with 3. It turned out phenomenal! The crust was crispy and sticky like candy, and buttery too. The combination of ginger and pumpkin was just so wonderful, it took me right back to my childhood and made me feel all euphoric and happy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: JENNIFERLYNN2
I love this recipe. I was just about to add it but see someone already did. I changed the recipe a little bit to suit my taste. First of all, I just use the entire 15oz can of pumpkin. I never know what to do with the little bit of "extra" so I tried adding it. The pie came out great. I also add 1/2 tsp. ground ginger and substitute cloves for the nutmeg. My husband loves this too. He commented that the top tastes just a regular pumpkin pie, but that the crust is so much more flavorful. Well, I'm off to make one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: TGSE
When baking this pie, note that it is watery when it is removed from the oven and will set as it cools. The flavor is good, but the texture a little thick; next time I will omit the cornstarch. It is not my favorite, but my family and guests loved it, so I will probably make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: JEKURS
I thought this pie recipe was great. Didn't have quite enough gingersnap crumbs so added some vanilla wafer crumbs with it and it worked fine. I certainly will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: KRANEY
I used only the gingersnap crust portion of this recipe (I have my own pumpkin pie filling recipe), and it was fantastic! I did need to add an additional Tbl of butter to the crust to make it press into the pan without crumbling. The 2nd time I made this, I left off the sugar (the cookies have plenty!). Would do that again! One tip is to pour the filling almost all the way to the edge, that way, not so much crust is showing (the molasses in the cookies makes the crust look burned, although it isn't). Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: MELANI
gingersnap crust becomes soggy and blends in with the pumpkin
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: ERRANDRUNNER
Very good. A nice twist on traditional pumpkin pie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Busy Healthy Cook
So much healthier than crusts made with shortening or lard, and everyone loved this pie! Said they preferred by far to traditional Pumpkin Pie. I used only 2 T. butter and baked my crust about 10 minutes because my gingersnaps were stale. I also used fresh ground clove instead of nutmeg. I had 8 3/4" pie tin, and had to bake 1 hr 10 m. This my new Pumpkin Pie
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches